We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiwis visiting”
Review of Longrain

Longrain
Ranked #14 of 4 646 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$58
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: Welcome to Longrain, Melbourne. Our menu brings together South East Asian influences with the best Victorian produce. Inspired by the communal eating philosophy of the Asian table, our menu is made up of dishes created for sharing. Large servings and communal tables encourage the spirit of eating together, so you can try each dish as part of a full tasting experience, just as it was intended. The wine and cocktail list is created to work in harmony with the menu's intense and aromatic flavours.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome food. Had the banquet meal. We had a 8 month pregnant girl and 1 x 80 year old with dietary needs. Longrain catered for both their needs and gave excellent food and service to us all. Highly recommend and when we visit next year we are going back. Thanks

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longrain, Manager at Longrain, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your recommendation, we hope to see you next time you are in Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1 045 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great food. Great decor. The choices are almost overwhelming. Good selection of drinks and beers. Staff marvelous.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank eatme05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longrain, Manager at Longrain, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so happy to read your great review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great restaurant - brilliant vibe, great cocktails, tasty authentic food. Try the papaya salad - simply the best I’ve tasted, with every bite packing a wonderful punch. Soooo good!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheTravellingTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Having experienced the Sydney Longrain (12 months earlier) and the wonderful menu there I was not expecting this to be so much better. The caramelised pork hock and penang lamb curry are a must try!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mattappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longrain, Manager at Longrain, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your excellent review, you are so glad you enjoyed both Longrain Melbourne and Longrain Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant, good service, kind staff, well educated, quite good quality food and average price in Melbourne. We tried the banquet menu which was amazing.

I highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AngelAcostaRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longrain also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing