We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food & Service is the best.”
Review of Straits Cafe

Straits Cafe
Ranked #21 of 4 656 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$26
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Straits Cafe offers authentic international cuisine that showcases the finest local and organic produce. Enjoy a meal made with fresh seasonal ingredients, complemented by the restaurant's refined ambiance. The friendly staff at our restaurant in Melbourne city center will be happy to help you pair your food with a fine Australian or international wine from our extensive wine list.
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

If your looking for a great place to stay and beautiful food please stay here, great service and remarkable chefs that will make your stay memorable, great service by Nat & Alam make sure you are looked after and you have an enjoyable night, once again keep Rendezvous on your itenerary when you visit Melbourne.

Cheers
Smith

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Scenic20924472121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

What makes this restaurant stand out is the exceptional service. Staff are very attentive, professional and serve to the highest of standards. The food was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank OOOAlliOOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

If you are staying at the hotel spend one night at the restaurant...Quality and presentation of food is exceptional and the wait staff Sam and Mishra are amazing! Highly recommend, it is the complete package!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank magqqqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent - the Fish of the Day COD exceeded my expectations, the marinated steak was as cooked to perfection, and the chicken breast was so tender and surprised us as chicken can be very tough if not cooked for long enough. All we can say is well done to the Chefs. We had an international visitor who hasn’t stopped raving about the Flank Steak. Thank you.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank vaughane547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We visited while staying in the Rendezvous Hotel, and was somewhat disappointed in the quality of the hot foods... Food needed to be fresher or replenished more often. Hash Browns were hard little rocks, Bacon was tough and it was not really appealing at all. I will say however, the pastry selection was excellent and tasted great, but for a full buffet, need to improve the hot food selection. At least automatic coffee machine was included too, which was not a bad coffee...

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny_Lou101, Guest Relations Manager at Straits Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Mathew

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Melbourne and the discretion taken in providing your feedback.

I was very disappointed to read your above feedback and would like to offer my sincerest apologies for any frustration felt as a result of your stay and your feedback have now been shared with our Restaurant Manager .

Whilst I am unable to change your previous experience, I would love to invite you to dine with again and show you the standard of service we provide every day. Of course, I'll personally ensure you are well looked after.

Warmest Regards
Sunny Lou
Guest Services Manager
slou@rendezvoushotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Straits Cafe also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Straits Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing