We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - a complete let down.”
Review of Kitchen Workshop

Kitchen Workshop
Ranked #77 of 323 Quick Bites in Melbourne
Price range: US$16 - US$29
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southbank
Description: Bring your appetite and enjoy the interactive buffet at Kitchen Workshop Melbourne. The guest favourite at Crown, now offers even more value with unlimited soft drinks and tea and coffee, every time you dine with us. Perfect for lunch or dinner, enjoy the fresh salad bar, mouth-watering roast counter, indulgent dessert bar or open pastry kitchen, in a relaxed atmosphere with friends, family or workmates.
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is one of the worst buffets I have had:
• They don’t take reservations so that means they inconvenience customers by making them wait in a line for 1 hr !
• They limit prawns and oysters – not that I eat them but if you wanted to you would be limited by a card system.
• Run out of forks and dessert spoons.
• So overcrowded that people cannot pass through thoroughfares and there is a line inside the restaurant for food too.
• No free drinks of any sort.
• Ice cream machine was broken
• No french fries or chips or nuggets typical children’s food
• Chicken covered in peri peri sauce – it certainly didn’t taste like it and why would you put that on a buffet.
• Food is bland in taste – it’s really quite extraordinary the lack of flavour across the wide variety of foods I tried. Even what appears to be a tasty chocolate mousse, just taste like sweetened paste.
• Way over priced for what I can only describe as a poor excuse for a buffet, do yourself a favour and skip this place.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank whitepointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 357 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Straight off the bat, I believe that this place is way too crowded. The wait staff had to ask people to pull their chairs in so that they could walk between and clear the tables. That being said, it is great value for an all-you-can-eat buffet at the Crown Casino (especially considering that the price of the French place atop the main entrance is almost $100/per person), and even though $26/person can sound a lot, it is roughly the price of one meal, one dessert and one or two drinks anyway - it just depends on how much you can eat.

I would most certainly recommend the Kitchen Workshop for families, however if you're after something quieter and more intimate you would be better off visiting the Italian restaurant you walk past to get to it, or one of the places a long the river.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ClaireSkewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I visited this restaurant on Monday after refusing to wait an hour in line for the Saturday sitting. I was expecting this place to be terrible and was thinking it would be like the Southport Shark's disgusting buffet but it was far from it! It had a lovely selection of food and I found the mussels in the sauce to be amazing! I also loved that they had a station where you could chose all the ingredients you wanted and the chef would make a stir fry out of it. To me, this place is better than the popular restaurant "Bazaar" because of it's wider selection of food, and it's much lower price. It was also less pretentious and made for a comfortable and causal evening. I hope I holiday in Melbourne again soon, because this was the best buffet I've ever been to. My only recommendation for if you do visit this restaurant, make sure you go between Monday - Thursday because a) it's cheaper and b) Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays have unbelievably huge lines to get though the door.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shanice234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We can eat what we want and the food is so complete. It just like all the food in the world in your bowl :D

Date of visit: May 2013
Thank Nururisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We were at Crown Casino to meet some friends on a Saturday and was shocked to find out that the parking flat rate is $18. So we decided to stay a bit longer and look at options for early dinner other than the fast food hall. We saw a growing but moving queue at Kitchen Workshop and found out it was a buffet and by the time we were near the register to see the prices ($37.50 per adult) and ask what is included in the buffet, it was too late to back out because by then, the line was really long. Managed to get in after a 30 minute wait, bigger groups wait longer.

Seafood was included but rationed (you get a card), 300 grams of prawns or 6 oysters. Having such limits is understandable but maybe there should be a discount option if people don't want seafood. Also, the tendency is for people to get the seafood because it is part of the cost of the meal, but they are unable to consume it all. So I am not convinced this system is that cost-effective. Seafood was fresh so that gets a tick of approval, although the thousand island type of sauce or dressing was gluggy and sour.

The soup, salad and dips sections were fine. The hot meal section was bland and uninspiring, for instance the roast beef (from the carvery area) was tough and tasteless. The cooking station was a total joke, stir fried meals that are Westernised and poorly executed. I didn't even bother when I sampled my companion's stir fried beef with vegetables. These two sections (hot meals and cooking station) really need a revamp.

Dessert choices were plentiful and generally good but not great. The ice cream machine was broken but they made up for it by setting an ice cream cone scooping section (not self-serve).

Staff were efficient with clearing the dishes and replenishing the buffet section.

In the middle of the meal, paramedics arrived to assess and trolley-out a pregnant woman. The sight of the paramedics did not deter the crowds outside waiting for an hour to get in.

All in all, it was a new experience but we would not return unless management improve the quality of their food.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MRYMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Kitchen Workshop also viewed

 

Been to Kitchen Workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.