We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely French restaurant in the heart of Melbourne”

The French Brasserie
Ranked #23 of 4 649 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Instantly welcoming the French Brasserie offers a relaxing sanctuary at the top end of town. Soaring ceilings and vast glass expanses achieve a chic contemporary atmosphere while friendly attentive staff anticipate your every need. Open for lunch Monday - Friday and dinner Monday - Saturday it continues to exceed the expectations of its guests who can choose to sit upstairs in the mezzanine area, inside at intimate tables or relax outside on the terrace. Express Lunch - Mon-Fri - 2 courses with a beverage $35ppPre-Theatre Menu - Tues-Sat - 2 courses with a beverage $39.50pp(Condtions Apply - Must order before 7.pm - Seating Time - 6.00pm-8.00pm)
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful food. Good value
Staff are mostly French, adds a nice touch
Atmosphere is relaxed and cool
Food is amazing
Wine list extensive
Will definitely eat here again

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Nicky_c79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bonjour Nicky_c79,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here with us at The French Brasserie. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and that you like the food, wine list and atmosphere. We'll be sure to pass on your comments to our staff and team, and yes please do visit us again soon.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Merci,

Chrissy S
The French Brasserie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

This was the 3rd time at the French Brasserie and still the same welcoming by Hadj, service, atmosphere and not to forget the food and the chef creativity...
Will come back very soon.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Thierry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bonjour Thierry,

Thank you for your kind words, review and recommendation. We're pleased to hear that your a return guest and diner, and we appreciate your continued support. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Hadji and the team, and yes please do visit us again soon.

Merci,

Chrissy S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

The French Brasserie in Melbourne truly makes you feel as if you are in France with a wonderful atmosphere, delicious authentic dishes and French staff who are always friendly and efficient. I have eaten here on several occasions and everytime has been a great experience. Worth visiting if you love French food and the fact that all the staff are French just adds to the atmosphere.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank globalreview2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bonjour globalreview2018,

Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that you're a return guest and visitor. Thanks for your continued support. We'll be sure to pass on your comments to our team, and we're glad you enjoyed dining. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Merci,

Chrissy S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Oh the french onion soup! Check out this restaurant, perfectly situated in Malthouse Lane, bustling with ambience and warmth. ..

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank lilyroseAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Thanks for your kind words, review and recommendation. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed dining with us, and that the French Onion soup was a stand out. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our chefs and team, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Merci,

Chrissy S
The French Brasserie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Tucked away in a Melbourne laneway ( Malthouse Lane) The French Brasserie is a really excellent French restaurant . Consistently good for over a decade this is a great spot not to be missed. Very French & Very Good

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Merci Gregory for your kind words and review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed dining with us, and we appreciate your continued support over the years. Thank you for visiting, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Brasserie also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Richmond, Yarra
 

Been to The French Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing