We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
RAW Travel and the Camino de Santiago

The quiet times imposed by the virus have allowed me time to reflect with gratitude on the Camino... read more

Reviewed 20 May 2020
lotsatime
,
Dallas, Texas
Experiences of a Lifetime

My husband and I used RAW Travel to organise our self guided walks of the 800 km Camino Frances in... read more

Reviewed 1 October 2019
Gromit28
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 16 reviews
  
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
13
0
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
0
0
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

We recently completed the Great Ocean Road 3 day guided walk with Eric and Lee from Raw Travel. Everything had been thought of in terms of food, accommodation and transport. Eric tailored the walk to the fitness of the 6 participants who were a great bunch of people. Frank at Bimbi
park provided our very welcome meals each morning and evening. Nice touches with trackside drinks at the end of Day 2 and 3. Will use this company again as we didn’t have a single thing to worry about for the entire trip. The walk itself is stunning with lots of historical and geographical knowledge provided along the way. A
5 star experience.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Luciandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaM4514, Public Relations Manager at RAW Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Hi Lucia & Simon - thank you for such a great review! We work really hard to take care of all the details so that our clients can just walk and enjoy the experience. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with our leaders and the other RAW Travellers. Enjoy the memories and let us know when you are ready for your next adventure...we'd love to help! RAW Travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

My wife and I have just completed the 6 day GOW with RAW Travel.
We had an exceptional time with our guide Eric and driver/support Lee.
The two of them made this a truly memorable trip. We were also fortunate to have had a diverse group of walkers (10 in total) who were roughly similar in fitness.
The group were a lot of fun.
The food and accomodation was very good. We walked the Camino some years ago. That was also with RAW Travel and both were terrific well organised walks.
The scenery is magnificent, spectacular ocean views, beach walks, forest walks.
Also enjoyed the history of the Cape Otway Lighthouse with Mark and a talk on local Aboriginal heritage and culture by Richard.
Our stay at Bimbi Park was memorable with great food and conversation provided by Frank.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank lukeb680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaM4514, Public Relations Manager at RAW Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Hi Luke, thanks for the lovely feedback. We really value and appreciate it. Eric and Lee go above and beyond to make sure our clients have the best time on this walk, so it's great to hear your trip was a big success. Enjoy the memories.! Please give us a call when you are ready to plan your next walking adventure...we'd love to help : ) RAW Travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Recently experienced the Portuguese Camino incorporating yoga twice a day!
I would repeat this trip again in a heartbeat
Well organised, great value for money and all of the interactions with Raw travel staff from the admin staff, to the tour organiser in Australia, to our wonderful guide in Spain German and the kindest most gentle yoga instructor Arantxa, have been professional and individualised
Accomodation was superb, just the right balance between guidance of the trail and independence and the local history and story telling by German and Arantxa made the trip all that more special
Congratulations to everyone involved at Raw travel

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank valerieh837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaM4514, Public Relations Manager at RAW Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Hi Valerie, thanks so much for your lovely feedback : ) We really value and appreciate it. Hiking and yoga go really well together (especially in beautiful locations like you find on the Camino), so we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the combination. Our staff in Spain (and here in Australia) go above and beyond to help our clients have wonderful, memorable trips, so it makes us very happy when you say they made the trip special. Enjoy your memories and let us know when you are ready to plan your next adventure...we'd love to help! RAW Travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Recently returned from a guided tour of Mont Blanc, We had 8 participants of which 2 were not even close to being up to the task. As a result 6 of us had an unguided tour and the guide stayed with the elderly couple. Definitely not what we paid for but the guide did the best he could given the circumstances and RAW did nothing to mitigate the impact on the 6 trekking alone and have not been in contact with me after my return and subsequent negative feedback.....Beware of this but all other factors were great.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank kb7449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaM4514, Public Relations Manager at RAW Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Hi kb7449

Thanks so much for the feedback about your recent Mont Blanc trek and for taking the time to talk to us in more detail about your experience. We do our very best to make sure that people who participate in our walks have chosen the right trek for their fitness level, plus we encourage everyone to start a training program at least 3 months before their departure date, and we provide practical advice on how to get walking fit for the European Alps.

It is imperative that clients disclose any pre-existing medical conditions to us and are transparent about anything that may affect their ability to complete our treks. Unfortunately, on rare occasions, some travellers are not forthcoming with relevant medical and fitness information and this can have an impact on the group they are travelling with and the ability of the leader to complete the day's trek.

Our team of International Mountain Leaders have many years of experience in the European Alps and are well versed in mountain safety and navigation, and dealing with challenges as they arise.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Wishing you all the best for your next adventure.

RAW Travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Our 13 day guided Tour de Mont Blanc, (TMB), was an amazing experience. Our group of 11 were capably led by RAW Travel's professional guide, Gary. The trek itself was impressive, hard work sometimes, but always rewarded by magnificent views of the Mont Blanc massif at every turn. Each day was different and spectacular as we walked around the mountains through France, Italy and Switzerland. The accommodation, food and luggage portage were all 1st class, as was the pre trip organisation, documentation and advice. Glad we did the complimentary training walk Jodie organised for us to Mt Donna Buang before our trip. RAW Travel did an excellent job in all aspects of this trip to make it a resounding success for entire our party. Thank you so much, this was one of my all time best walks, thanks to Mont Blanc and RAW Travel.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank razzy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha M, Public Relations Manager at RAW Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Hi razzy38, thanks for the review! We really appreciate and value your feedback. The TMB is one of our favourite walks, so we love it when our clients return this happy! We are lucky to have such passionate and experienced International Mountain Leaders guiding our trips in the European Alps. It makes all the difference! Enjoy the memories and give us a call when you're ready to plan your next walking adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews