We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a gem and what great hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stuart F
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a gem and what great hosts”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week and it was such a fantastic find. It is handy to the city, 10 minutes by car to the Salamanca Market, a regular bus service, and the taxi from town at 1.00am was only $20. it is a gorgeous apartment, Pam and Tom have filled the fridge and cupboard with jams and other condiments, and it had a coffee maker. Pam gave us lettuce from her garden and we were invited to join them on Christmas Day.

Tom loaned me a bike and I enjoyed riding on the cycle friendly road which goes right past the door. I rode out past the Shot Tower, a must to visit. Everything around Hobart is easy to get to, we had a rental car and driving was easy. Tom told me of some good vineyards and it was a very pleasant day sampling wine and many of the vineyard have a restaurant or cafe attached .

We had a great stay and only regretted that we could not stay longer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts were extremely helpful and pleasant
Liked least: We had to return home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuspub
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Having read the other reviews, there seems to be very little I need to say.”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Question... Why would it be that a rental apartment such as 'The Gardens' has received 5 stars from everyone who has stayed? I'd say it's pretty obvious, wouldn't you?

People have told you about the gorgeous Tessa chairs, the many books, DVD's et al, they would have mentioned that the place was immaculate, that the fridge was stocked with (in our case) 1 litre of milk, various lovely jams, butter, yoghurt and more. Opening the cupboards revealed even more goodies such as all of the condiments you could ever need, a massive array of cutlery and utensils, a large container of Weetbix (which I just happen to love), and the list goes on.

The bed is great, the sheets etc of a high standard, and then there's the little bathroom. Wow, I mean Tom and Pam don't skimp when it comes to ensuring you have everything you need. Buds, full medical kit, hair dryer, and more and more.

Situated approximately half way between Hobart CBD and Kingston along the winding Channel Highway, The Gardens Apartment is perfectly positioned up the hill across from the beach, not far from The Shot Tower. The roads are great, the traffic light, and everything on the Apple Isle is good.

The only things not provided by Pam and Tom was Gladwrap and a large quantity of coat hangers. Mind you, as soon as these were mentioned goodies were retrieved post haste.

One thing arguably missing is a fan for the toilet, suffice to say the window has a vent in the top.

And one more little thing; the filter in the lovely and efficient heater, required cleaning after the second night (we stayed for a total of 12), and it seemed that it hadn't been cleaned for some time. I imagine though it's one of those things that only needs cleaning every several months, so I can absolutely understand why this one slipped through to the keeper. Besides, it took me all of a minute to do it myself, so who cares.

Frankly, the place is great value for money, it's private, you don't have to worry whatsoever about noise (the wall between the apartment and house is fully sound proofed), is well positioned and the hosts terrific.

Point being? If looking for an apartment in Hobart, you simply must consider The Gardens Apartment Hobart.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2014
Hi Greg, It was great to have you stay with us and thanks for the great review including the heads-up on the filter in the heater. You're correct it hardly ever needs cleaning, which is why it slipped off our radar. That won't happen again. Thanks also for the suggestion of more coat-hangers which have since been added.
Cheers,
Tom & Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jatty0
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Such a great place for couple to stay. Place has almost everything in such a compact space. Located at 10 mins drive from Hobart and such a great people to deal with. Highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Brew...
Wodonga. Vic
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome accommodation for a couple”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Everything about this apartment was top quality. The little things like fruit, cereal, milk, jams & spreads etc, were provided just in case we had forgotten to purchase prior to our arrival. Tom & Pam checked on us to make sure that we were comfortable when Hobart experienced a cold night during our stay. The personal touch & caring nature of our hosts was just beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The compactness of the apartment. Our hosts Tom & Pam
Liked least: We were unable to stay longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Devonport, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in the south.”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled from Paradise in the north west of Tassie and found a little peice of paradise in the south. Immaculately clean, well presented and appointed as well as reasonably priced. Great gardens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$96
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing