We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Cottage with magnificent views and beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunroom
Deck with view Lounge room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Sunroom
Deck with view
Lounge room
Kitchen
Bedroom onto deck
Main bedroom
Dining/lounge area
Bathroom/toilet/laundry
Mt Wellington view from deck
Sunroom and deck from garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SueandWil...
Woolgoolga, Australia
2 reviews
“Cosy Cottage with magnificent views and beautiful garden”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I loved this cottage so much. Watching the river and the abundant bird life in the garden was just beautiful. Really wish I'd booked a longer stay. I hope to be back again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2016
Thanks Suzanne. My feelings exactly. Come again, anytime!!
Cheers
Viki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday cottage with amazing water views, very comfortable and reasonable cost”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed our stay at Conningham Cottage ideally located to explore the amazing Huon Trail as well as visit Hobart only 24Ks away. The cottage is exactly as described on the website, well appointed and very comfortable.

Our only concern was having made the booking in Australia through Tripadvisor's Australian website that our payment in Australian dollars in fact was paid into a bank in the USA and consequently we were charged an International bank transfer fee. We feel that Tripadvisor should warn clients of this possibility.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The water views and views of Mount Wellington
Liked least: Tripadvisor sending our payment to a bank in the USA resulting in international bank transfer fees.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the feedback re payment. Difficult to change! Viki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
847jenny
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Coningham Cottage is set in such a beautiful location with views that we literally needed to drag ourselves away from..... we could have quite easily sat on the deck or in the gorgeous sunroom all day long.
The cottage is warm, inviting and homely with all of the comforts of home. Traveling from South Australia we really appreciated the inclusions of linen, towels, soap, tea, coffee and milk etc. The kitchen is well equipped with everything we needed, including clingwrap!
We loved the cosy living area, especially the wood fire. There were also CDs, DVDs, games, puzzles and books available.
We were made to feel very welcome by Viki, the owner. She was friendly and thoughtful, and provided us with information that was very helpful when planning our trip. She also emailed us detailed directions to the property which made it very easy to locate.
We had a lovely time at Coningham Cottage, the only down side was that we had to go back home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil location with stunning views.
Liked least: It was expensive to stay there, it would be wonderful to stay for longer if it was more affordable.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2016
Glad you enjoyed the cottage (and the show :-)) so much Jenny and family!! Thanks for the compliments and hope to see you another time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judy j
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Blissful views in spacious comfort”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Mark and I have just stayed there with Mark's brother Chris...and we loved it.
The cottage is spacious, airy and lovely and clean and fresh. It had all the necessities to make our stay enjoyable, we even got to watch a dvd we hadn't seen....this was watched after the spectacular view faded from sight as night descended. Viki was helpful and friendly and we felt very welcomed. My brother n law had the bed at the back of the house (with the views) and said he had the best night sleep in years..he wanted to take the bed back to Perth. Three days was not enough....I would love to come back and spend a week or two.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and gardens
Liked least: driving up the hill just before the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2016
Thanks Judy. Great you "stumbled" onto us and so glad you enjoyed your short stay. Please do come back again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101marlen...
Skala, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing views and location but .........”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The accommodation is in an excellent position with wonderful views and very well equipped. The beds and linen were clean. However, it rained on a couple of nights and the side windows on the smaller bedroom leaked quite badly forcing my son to sleep on the sofa as the water was splashing on the bed. The window at the front of the bedroom also leaked and water was running close to an electrical socket. The fridge did not look as if it had been cleaned for some time especially under the salad drawer and shelves were rusty at the back. I do think Viki should pay closer attention to the cleaning as there were cobwebs and dead flies in the kitchen window which had been there for quite a while. There was also various jars of sauces in the fridge that looked as if they had been opened for some time and out of date food in the kitchen cupboard. This really needs to be thrown away. Despite these problems we enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Really sad the roof continued to present problems - the bathroom was all sorted but not above the bedroom window! Everything is now totally repaired with new flashing. And, of course, it hasn't rained since these problems so no testing has been done but the roofer is content all is fine.
Re the other comments - these have been dealt with. My cleaners do a great job and very rarely miss anything - in over 10 years of servicing my cottage.
Meanwhile the joys of the position, the garden and the fully equipped cottage are there to enjoy - and many guests are still doing!! :-)
Viki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing