We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Look no further”
other travellers have booked this property
Drift away ...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Spacious open plan living
Dine to water views
Relax in comfort
Harmony
Sparkling new kitchen
Master bedroom
2-way bathroom
Kestrel Downs - stunning bird's eye view to the Southern Ocean
Flying fish welcome
Relax on the verandah
Shy visitors at our bird bath
Northern aspect
Verandah view - glorious sunrise over Pelican Lagoon
A tranquil spot
Feathered friends at our bird bath
Stonework in local limestone
Spring time at Kestrel downs
Spring time at Kestrel Downs
Walk across Kestrel Downs to climb the towering dune of Prospect Hill
Our local beach - beautiful Pennington Bay
Evening at Pennington Bay
Early morning at Pennington Bay
Morning light, Pennington Bay
Walk quietly - endangered Hooded Plovers at Pennington Bay
Residents of our local habitat, Pelican Lagoon
Black Swans at Pelican Lagoon - our local habitat
Calm waters of nearby Island Beach
Wander the serene Cannery Walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Stromboly
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look no further”
Reviewed 5 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Me an my family loved the house. Beautiful setting, great views. The house is comfy, well equipped and nicely decorated.
It was a short drive from the ferry and easy to find as well, thanks to Sally's instructions.
The house is exactly as shown on the pictures and we couldn't have asked for more.
From here, we drove up to Stokes Bay, which took about an hour. The way back home, from Flinders Chase, was about an hour and a half.
The last morning, we decided to leave super early to be able to see the suns rise as we drove past Pelican Lagoon on our way to Pennington Bay - which is just around the corner. This beach is beautiful and we were lucky enough to spot Dolphins catching some waves which was truly magical.
Kestrel Downs is a great base to explore the beautiful island and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. It is always a thrill to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We do our best to provide quality accommodation in our unique setting. It’s certainly worth waking early to catch the sunrise and what lucky timing to be at beautiful Pennington Bay when the dolphins were there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayking
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sit Back and Relax”
Reviewed 24 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Overlooking beautiful pelican lagoon. This well equipped Home is secluded and peaceful but only 20km from the Penneshaw ferry. The Wallabies joined us in the evening and Kangaroos in the Morning

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We love sharing our special place with our guests, as well as our beautiful wildlife. Always welcome to return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer70...
1 review
“Kestrel Downs will be one of the highlights of our trip to South Australia”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Only 22 km from the ferry Kestrel Downs is located on a small hill where you have a priviledge overview of Pelican Lagoon while watching many birds and curious kangaroos! Sleeping was quite comfortable and calm. Kestrel Downs has clean and spacious rooms with everything you need to feel like at home. Sally gave us an interesting and helpful list of her favourite things to discover on Kangaroo Island. She was fantastic at providing all necessary informations for an interesting and comfortable stay. We would definitely recommend Kestrel Downs to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour...
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We have used this accommodation on a number of occasions over a number of years and love its peace and tranquility. The house is always clean and ready and through the various seasons there is always something to enjoy like a cosy fire in winter or a warm night sitting on the verandah watching the changing light and the animals moving around. There is plenty on offer around the island but it is also a wonderful relaxing home to enjoy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs.We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. We always feel very honoured when our guests return on a regular basis. It's such a compliment. Our goal is to provide our guests with a special experience, which includes quality accommodation offering comfort and relaxation in a unique setting. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C
1 review
“Tranquil, delightful, great value.”
Reviewed 12 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We just loved this place. Three nights was not enough. Beautiful views, comfort and attention to detail put it amongst the best places we have stayed.
We walked nearby Pennington Bay, ate delicious seaford at American River and explored the island by day. At night we enjoyed watching the wild life at the bird bath while sipping wine on the veranda and used the excellent cooking facilities to prepare our evening meal. Comfy beds and wonderful stars topped off a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. It's great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. We feel very privileged to have wildlife all around us and there's no better vantage point than the verandah to watch their activities.We hope you might return again one day. Always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing