We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectations”
Review of The Maylands Hotel

The Maylands Hotel
Ranked #625 of 1 877 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: US$3 - US$28
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

Beautiful pub, spacious, clean cute. The food is well below my expectations. The staff are not enthusiastic and friendly. A lot more potential.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank rosietb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2021

My husband and I went for lunch. The renovations and atmosphere were good. The menu provided standard options. The waitress spilt my wine but thank goodness it was only spilt on the table and not my clothes. The place was moderately busy yet staff were over keen to take our entree plates away. Most importantly the food was very ordinary and disappointing. Will try other places for a tastier lunch.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank crina121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

Went here for dinner as a family. The place looked amazing, love the style. Our meals were awesome, highly recommend. Only down points I would say the service was lacking a little - slow to take orders although place was quiet, didn’t acknowledge goodbye or ask how are meals were etc. One of the kids had fish and chips and just had one tiny piece of fish.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Em-Lee-Ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

This operates as a pub with a restaurant. It is well appointed and location is great. However, the restaurant side needs some attention at the price point. My bench mark dish of fish and chips are just OK. Staff friendly. Very pleasant environment.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Lankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2021 via mobile

Maylands is an enticing neighbourhood pub. We popped in for a drink once when passing by accident and decided to return for a meal to add another step in our quest to find Adelaide’s best chicken schnitzel. Is there a competition out there in the hospitality industry?!
We have possibly found the winner!!! Or certainly we’d be very content to now stop looking!
They crumb to order with herb crumbing and the meals were outstanding! Chips equally as outstanding. You could tell the food landed on the table more or less seconds after they jumped up out of the fryer!
Service was jovial but professional and it was a nice change for a pub to provide new cutlery after entree and not make you reuse dirty utensils!!!! Small things.
The only reason not to give 5/5 is that the feel of the pub could really be lifted if they did away with the out-of-place IKEA-like tables and chairs that really detract from the charm of the pub - you can feel that the old school charm just wants to seep out!
The fiano on the list isn’t a bad drop for the price.
Wouldn’t hesitate to return.

Date of visit: February 2021
3  Thank LisaMDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Maylands Hotel also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Norton Summit, Adelaide Hills
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Maylands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.