We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/03
Hotels.com
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/03
US$101
View deal
ZenHotels.com
CheapTicketsUS$101
TravelocityUS$101
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
84
39
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
84
39
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern rooms comfortable bed minute walk castle hill strand cbd stadium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2020

This hotel was ideal for our 1 night stay en-route to Cairns.

The rooms are quite spacious, well furnished and very clean. The bathroom was of similar quality - good shower with ample space and good pressure. The bed was firm, but very comfortable.

Although it is in the CBD, there was little to no street noise in the room. It is a 2 minute walk to a central food mall in which there are several good restaurants. You could walk to The Strand, but it is more realistically a short drive.

The hotel was initially a bit hard to find because its entrance (and signage) is on the side street rather than the main one, but all OK once you arrive,. There is off street parking but the garage is not locked at night.

We would be happy to return to the Clarion and have no reservations in recommending it to others.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020 via mobile

Central position within walking distance to most things Townsville have to offer (Dairy farmers stadium, Reid Park, The Strand, City, Castle Hill).
Comfortable bed, we slept like a baby.
Staff friendly & helpful
Quiet modern rooms. Parking on site, but difficult if you have a large or long vehicle.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank melissawI7052BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

This was the second time I’ve stayed at the Clarion. The staff are excellent, as exemplified from the moment we checked in with Andrew to when we checked out with Tyrone.

The bed here is one of the best I’ve ever slept in at a hotel.

The Clarion is also perfectly positioned to the new stadium.

My only comment was that they need a make-up light, as my wife found the bathroom could have been brighter.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019

The location is centrally located in the the city so you can easily walk to restaurants, bars and coffee places when ever you feel. Service was very friendly and professional. The room was spacious and clean, modern and the nespresso machine is a great relief, over instant coffee

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Elio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2019 via mobile

It was my first time at this hotel because the usual The Ville was booked out, but I think this one is even better-totally different of course. The location is right in the middle of the city so you can easily walk to restaurants, bars and coffee places on the morning. Service was very friendly and professional so no complaints at all! The room was spacious and clean, maybe a little noisy but that’s what you get in the middle of the city. It was not bad at all! I really liked the amenities, too, they have a coffee machine in the room and the general ambience of the hotel and the rooms is friendly and open.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Aninha_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews