We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$96
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Booking.comUS$101
CheapTicketsUS$101
ZenHotels.comUS$103
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
166
73
45
26
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
166
73
45
26
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar pool area queen room the east coast beautiful pool spent one night rooms are nice airlie beach down stairs flinders street ferry terminal comfy bed short stay great spot backpackers hostel noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

We were a bit confused by the use of the word resort describing this hotel. It is very much a higher end backpackers. We didn’t have a good experience from the beginning. We were unable to be checked in as our room wasn’t ready on time so sat in the bar for 2 hours until it was. When checking in there is a waiver that says “we play loud music until midnight and we understand it will be noisy” but that is hidden amongst all the general waiver things you need to sign. The room was very basic. The paint in our room was peeling off the wall. The bathroom door was glass sliding and leaves a big gap for your plop noises to escape and entertain the other person in the hotel room. There were also a bunch of cockroaches when we turned on the light in the bathroom that scattered. We didn’t see them again until the morning when we turned the light on, but then it was only one. The shower is AMAZING and was really really nice. My towel had makeup on it from the previous person that used the room - but it looked like they used the towel and then rolled it up to hide the stain - so the cleaners would have thought it had not been used. The bed was comfy and the sheets were clean. The TV was a great size. We didn’t use the pool. Despite the waiver for loud until midnight - the music was all done by 9pm. My big disappointment with the hotel is because it looked like a resort on Expedia and it really is just a glam backpackers. And I’m just too old to enjoy being in the backpackers environment.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AussieCub80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliott Armour, Marketing at Rambutan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay with us. We’re obviously very disappointed to read your review and apologise that we have not met your expectations in this instance. We would value the opportunity to learn more about your experience and speak with you in person. Could you please reach out to us on manager@rambutantownsville.com.au or alternatively please let us know how we may reach you.

We hope to be in contact with you soon.

Yours sincerely,
Rambutan Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

This in one stay has become the only place i would want to stay in Townsville, talk about value for money, the Rambutan outshines any 5 star i have stayed at in Australia.. Yes the rooms are kind of batch like inside but thays half the charm! The beds are fantastically comfortable, the staff are impeccable and the food at both restaurants is good.. Then there is the upstairs bar by the pool.. Cold beer and wine, good tunes and pizza.. Yep aifn me up every time. Also great free undercover parking.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank MicMac1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliott Armour, Marketing at Rambutan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Thanks for coming Mic. Glad you have been enjoying your visits and stays with us! We look forward to having you again and continuing to provide outstanding service.

Thanks,

Rambutan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2021

Enjoyed our stay and what looks like a fairly new renovated hotel. Staff were friendly and was right in the heart of town which was handy for us attending a wedding round the corner. Did get a little loud over the night but wouldn't put us off booking again.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anniekerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliott Armour, Marketing at Rambutan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Thanks for coming Annie and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll work on those touch points and aim to improve our service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2021 via mobile

This resort isn’t what you’d expect. The room was dirty, literally balls of hair in the drain and on the floor boards. There was a dirty towel still hanging on the shower door with make-up on it. There were marks still in the toilet from previous guests... and the noise from the bar is very loud. Don’t bother.

Date of stay: April 2021
1  Thank Grant271087
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2021

We had booked for three nights in the villa. There were four rooms and a normal bathroom, but then a weird shower only x2 area a similar to those you have at a camping ground. The rooms were very worn, scratches and marks all over, floor not in great condition. And the view was of rocks. Two bedrooms had windows looking into the side of a cliff, our other views were of the cement walls leading to the carpark. Pretty disappointing, considering we were close to the strand. The carpark entrance had us scrapping our car bottom every time we came or left. The idea of the pool was nice, until you realise you are swimming next to the very public and popular restaurant , frequented by noisy locals. We at ate the restaurant one night and were also disappointed. Pizza was delivered 20mins after ordering , everyone else’s meals came 20. Mins after that. Overall, not what we expected and would not recommend.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angieandlauriej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews