We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Destinia.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
166
73
42
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
166
73
42
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar pool area queen room the east coast beautiful pool spent one night rooms are nice airlie beach down stairs flinders street ferry terminal comfy bed short stay great spot backpackers hostel noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2021 via mobile

This resort isn’t what you’d expect. The room was dirty, literally balls of hair in the drain and on the floor boards. There was a dirty towel still hanging on the shower door with make-up on it. There were marks still in the toilet from previous guests... and the noise from the bar is very loud. Don’t bother.

Date of stay: April 2021
1  Thank Grant271087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2021

We had booked for three nights in the villa. There were four rooms and a normal bathroom, but then a weird shower only x2 area a similar to those you have at a camping ground. The rooms were very worn, scratches and marks all over, floor not in great condition. And the view was of rocks. Two bedrooms had windows looking into the side of a cliff, our other views were of the cement walls leading to the carpark. Pretty disappointing, considering we were close to the strand. The carpark entrance had us scrapping our car bottom every time we came or left. The idea of the pool was nice, until you realise you are swimming next to the very public and popular restaurant , frequented by noisy locals. We at ate the restaurant one night and were also disappointed. Pizza was delivered 20mins after ordering , everyone else’s meals came 20. Mins after that. Overall, not what we expected and would not recommend.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angieandlauriej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021

The lady who checked me in was so lovely and friendly. Sorry I can’t remember her name.
The room was lovely and clean, loved the decor. A beautiful pool and Pizza restaurant. The cafe below was really good. Staff everywhere were brilliant.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank SophieRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

The Rambutan Hotel is the place to stay at Townsville CBD. We were a group of 10 there. Rooms are modern, comfortable and very clean. Pool in the rooftop is fantastic. Food and drinks delicious and well priced. On top of all that, service from all their staff was friendly and helpful. Love our stay there and will come back next time we're in Townsville.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank RaulArregui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

Absolutely terrible. Would not ever recommend but advise DO NOT eat here. We waited 2 hours for our extremely substandard meal. Customer service was appalling. They wanted to charge me $12 for a jug of soda water until we refused and later brought it to our table. 2 kitchen staff and a full function upstairs and we were the only people downstairs in the restaurant being totally ignored. Disgraceful.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank scroucher65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rambutan Townsville, Agency / Consultant at Rambutan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2021

Dear Scroucher65,

Please excuse the delay in responding to you. We're obviously very disappointed to read about your experience. We apologise that our service standards on the day tarnished your experience at Rambutan. We do acknowledge that on the day you visited we experienced staff resourcing issues, however, clearly our communication and customer service was not up to the standard that we strive for, and expect to deliver to our guests. We would value the opportunity to learn more about your experience and resolve for you. Please let us know how we may contact you, or please contact me directly via manager@rambutantownsville.com

Yours sincerely,
Michaela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews