We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
FindHotel
US$96
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Hotels.comUS$101
CheapTicketsUS$101
ZenHotels.comUS$103
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
166
73
45
26
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
166
73
45
26
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar pool area queen room the east coast beautiful pool spent one night rooms are nice airlie beach down stairs flinders street ferry terminal comfy bed short stay great spot backpackers hostel noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2020 via mobile

Having stayed at this hotel previously my expectations were not very high as I’ve noticed a few small issues with the business, however the price usually compensates. But this time even despite the well priced $80 a night I was deflated by the few issues in my room. The aircon was stuck on, the shower overflowing, the lack of privacy due to poor design and inferior curtains, the worn out and uncomfortable mattress, the TV that had no channels or connection and last but not least the feeling from staff that my complaint was not welcomed nor was my opinion valued. Such a cool place being held back by either management or financially constraining owners limiting managements ability to value its customers.
On a positive note, I’ve enjoyed a pretty good wood fired pizza here on last stay and the location and parking is convenient

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank highestpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2020 via mobile

Overall it was ok but I’m not sure how it got its 5 stars as it’s not deserved now. When we arrived we tried to enter the car park ramp but there is such a steep difference between the driveway and the car park my car grounded and we hit the exhaust. My car is a Kia Rio so it’s a pretty average car and it hasn’t been lowered. We had to reverse and park in the upper car park which the meant we had to carry our luggage down the very steep drive to access the hotel.
The room was clean but the bedding was a bit damaged and the room had hairline cracks in it. There was only 2 electrical sockets in the bedroom, one powered the fridge and the other was a reading lamp. Most people have mobile phones to charge as well as hairdryers etc so unless you plug them into the sockets in the bathroom you either have to unplug the fridge or the lamp. Not very convenient. The air conditioning didn’t have a heat facility and it was quite cold that night and coupled with the big gap under the door it wasn’t very comfortable. The plug did not work in the sink so I just had to continuously run the water which is wasteful. The room was quite clean.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank darwin1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2020

Sorry but i'm a mother and i can't stand it! , the hostel is no smoking , but it smelled like drugs on the stairs, the kids asked us what it was . I thinks we don’t come back in this hostel ! Thank you .

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank LillyMark20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rambutan Townsville, Agency / Consultant at Rambutan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2020

Hi LillyMark20,

We're obviously very disappointed to hear about your experience regarding the smell of smoke at the property. As you mention, we are a smoke free venue, however people may smoke in the designated smoking area at the rear of the property located in the outside car park. We apologise wholeheartedly that another guests decision has tarnished your experience.

We would like to know more about your experience so that we may put in place measures that stop this from happening in the future. Could you please let us know how we may reach you to discuss further? Alternatively, please contact me directly on manager@rambutantownsville.com or call: (07) 4771 6915

Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention.
Rambutan Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2020 via mobile

We have stayed here before for 5 nights so thought we would bring our friends. Our rooms 30 &31 were near the pool and it wss a bit noisy from a group of women in the pool area. They moved at 10pm which we were happy about but must have gone elsewhere because they wrte walkok ng around until 4:30am making a lot of noise we cpmplained to front deskwho gaves us a free breakfast. They told us the local group would be banned.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank davidcK6574TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2020 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at Rambutan Resort excellently located in the centre of Townsville. Modern comfortable rooms. Great food and friendly staff. The barman at the rooftop pool on Friday 10/07/20 lunchtime is a credit to this business. Working by himself he didn’t stop. He couldn’t do enough for us. Helped with recommendations for our vegan daughter after overhearing us chatting about where we could obtain food for her amongst other things. He had a very pleasant manner about him. He is an absolute asset for the resort. The other staff we spoke were also pleasant and helpful. Great food with a funky happy atmosphere. Great spot to stay in Townsville.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 768Al155
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews