We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$88
US$71
View deal
SAVE US$17
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Destinia.comUS$88
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (770)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveller rating
204
296
143
61
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
204
296
143
61
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews police station loading zone family suite nice room flinders street would stay again pleasant stay woolworths foyer cafes strand australia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 770 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2020

778219092

I wanted to surprise my partner for his birthday, when I saw the pictures and saw boats and water, I figured it was near there. No.. was in the middle of town, oh not to worry, we walked to the Strand. The state of the room, well what a joke.. the staff were friendly, the lobby smelt and the lifts were filthy. The level we stayed on had an unclean musky smell.. there was that much dust on the plastic plants we thought they had white leaves.. our room, well I left pictures .. only thing I couldn't show you was the smell, not very pleasant at all, just a cheap, dirty run down hotel.. need better management with an eye for wanting to impress stayers and have a decent upkeep of quality cleanliness!!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob62Lee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020

We had to check in after reception hours with a Mobile App to access hotel, this was verified with hotel staff. Upon arriving before 10pm unfortunately it did not give us access. We were informed by hotel staff there was no contact after hours if we had any issues. We had to book into another hotel as we had an early appointment the next day. After our appointment we returned back to the hotel as we were booked in for 4 nights. We explained to hotel reception staff we were unable to access our room with the mobile app and asked if we could be refunded for that night stay. We were told that they could not, we asked if there was a manager available. Where upon we were confronted with, I can only describe as a very rude, condescending, lack of emotion individual. Whos introduction was to reiterate the receptionist response as that it was her advice. She told us it was operator error, she was sick of people undermining her, she would not refund the night stay. We asked if we could speak to her manager and she informed NO as she was left in charge by the owners so they could play golf. She advised she wasn't going to continue the conversation. We attempted to explain although her receptionist was successful with our App to open the main hotel door, it didn't work for us and why would we at 10pm at night try and undermine the hotel to try and get a free night stay when we then had to book another hotel for $145.00. we did not ask for that cost just the cost of $85 as we could not get into our booked room with their App. There was no one to contact after hours as l'd asked earlier in the evening if we did have any issues, when we were on route to Townsville, and hotel staff advised there was not.We are deeply upset as we have never experienced the treatment we received from this hotel staff member in all our years of travel around this country and the world.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank amandadC8336MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2020 via mobile

When I enter the room was so smelly and old fashioned. No plates and cutlery on the room, surprised me a lot. Will not recommend anyone to go there. Even there is no one in the reception on night time.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Nitin123009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2020

The service they advertise is not what is delivered. We were to stay there October 31 and November 1. They advertise 24 hour reception! Not an option. Our flight was late, so we arrived around 10pm. We were unable to get in let alone book in. I rang the night bell several times, with no answer. I then rang the hotel direct, and got a recorded message, so left on in return asking them to call me. We sat outside for some time, with no response. So in the middle of the night we had to find somewhere else to stay. That took a couple of calls to find a hotel/motel in walking distance with 24 hour reception. Went back again the next day, and still were unable to book in. Now we're told there is no refund as we didn't show! What a joke.

Room tip: Go somewhere else!
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himandme2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020 via mobile

We stayed in an Executive Queen Room for 2 nights. The room price was so affordable ($99.00 per night) and perfectly set up for a couple to share. When we arrived, we stopped in the loading zone to check in. On check in the receptionist told us about the parking options - we decided to park in the hotels car park because it was just across the road (next to the police station) and was only $15 per night. We actually arrived early (at 10.30am, just before the hotel reception desk closes for the lunch break) and were able to check in straight away! This was such a relief after hours of driving, so thank you to the amazing receptionist who organized this for us - it was soooo appreciated! The room smelt fresh, was clean and comfortable, and the aircon was really cold (it is already so hot in Townsville, so it’s super refreshing coming to a nice cold room after a day out exploring). We definitely recommend this hotel in the heart of Townsville’s tiny city, and will be back again!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MaMiPe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews