We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$106
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$106
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/01
Priceline
Expedia.comUS$82
ZenHotels.comUS$106
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
204
296
143
62
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
204
296
143
62
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews police station loading zone family suite nice room flinders street would stay again pleasant stay woolworths foyer cafes strand australia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 771 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2018

Brief stay-over in Townsville and chose Madison Plaza because of its Central location. Right in main Street (entrance Stanley Street).
Only parking near hotel; is on street and Council charges apply from 9.00 am
Room was spacious, with bed and adjacent sitting area with TV, small refrigerator, coffee/tea facilities, separate shower and bath.

Room tip: Rooms on south and western sides have street view
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Herb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadisonPlaza, Manager at Madison Plaza Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Hi Herb L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kallie Glynatsis – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2018

I had occasion to stay three nights in Townsville to attend a special dinner event in October 2018 flying up from Brisbane and after a thorough and careful search of the internet I chose Madison Plaza as my hotel stay.

I was gravitated to the place by its moderate cost and excellent location on the corner of Stanley and Flinders Streets. I had noted that Woolworths and the trendy City Lane and City Arcade eating and drinking establishments were next door. It is also just one block away from the Cowboys Leagues Club. There is also a bus stop opposite the hotel in Stanley Street servicing key bus routes.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and tidy and have the basics for the traveller with writing desk, chair, wardrobe and television. The bathroom facilities are adequate for a travellers needs. However, to get to the bathroom from the bedroom in my unit there was a step to negotiate which represented a potential trip hazard requiring me to be extra careful every time I went to the bathroom, particularly at night. An added bonus for me was the shower over a plunge bath and the bath plug actually worked and did its job.

I found the staff very friendly and they made my stay enjoyable. Attached to the hotel on the ground floor is a very trendy café and coffee place called “Fratello Café”. The café is a separate business to the hotel but offers hotel guests a good discount on their excellently prepared breakfasts. Fratello features some amazing fruit juice selections. One I enjoyed during my stay was their “Immune Boost” comprising orange, lemon and lime juice and ginger. Oh so refreshing and a lovely combination of tastes..

Travellers looking for a basic, modestly priced hotel for a short Townsville stay need look no further than the Madison Plaza. It is a comfortable, nicely located place to stay in this interesting north Queensland city.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadisonPlaza, Manager at Madison Plaza Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Hi OrderintheHouse,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kallie Glynatsis – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

Rooms are dark but clean. Bad lighting with miniature bedside tables. Only two pillows for two people, no spares. Trip hazard entering bathroom. Lift door shut while entering lift knocking me and leaving a lump and bruise, would knock an elderly person over with the force it closed. The front office girls are excellent.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Northern G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadisonPlaza, Manager at Madison Plaza Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Hi Northern G,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kallie Glynatsis – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Madison plaza is conveniently located near city lane, for some tasty places to eat, near the cinemas and within a 15 minute ride to the shopping centres and strand. Comfy and clean rooms, traffic can sometimes be a little noisy but overall for the price an enjoyable stay. Reception staff were welcoming and friendly. Would stay again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank kle1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadisonPlaza, Manager at Madison Plaza Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Hi kle1234,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kallie Glynatsis – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Family room was good value - 2 queen beds and a single across 2 rooms. Place was a bit dusty but good for a couple of nights. Right in the centre of town with good cafes etc. nearby. They flipped on their offer to accommodate late checkout but otherwise satisfactory.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LizzieLongstrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadisonPlaza, Manager at Madison Plaza Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Hi LizzieLongstrump,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kallie Glynatsis – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews