We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/03
Destinia.com
US$118
US$100
View deal
SAVE US$18
Free cancellation until 21/06/30
Hotels.comUS$108
CheapTicketsUS$108
getaroom.comUS$118
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
117
240
200
108
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
240
200
108
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palmer street bit dated comfortable bed undercover parking southbank position marina eateries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2021

Our concierge, a lovely gentleman made our stay in the hotel even better, super friendly. We liked our room, the beds were comfortable, including the lovely pillows.
I had requested non feathers and it was perfect.
Hotel is close to many great restaurants, we enjoyed the Croatian one one night and Indian the next night.
We are planning to come back soon to Rydges as we have to spend quite a few weekends in Townsville this year.

Date of stay: April 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

The refurbishment of the hotel is coming along nicely, our room was nicely done up.
As usual the staff were excellent. Dining room excellent and glad to see all back as usual. The safety is also much in mind and I thought that was excellent.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sharronc780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021

Our room was small but still nice and tidy. Service was good. Really great location for being close to The Strand and resturants and pubs. This place was probably a bit better pre-COVID as it seemed like their pool and main resturant were closed.

Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 955maggier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment one street behind the Rydges main building. Great location to stadium and cowboys leagues club. Apartment was recently 90% renovated. Felt clean and modern. Great aircon in every room.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TAS_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2021

We had two seperate visits to this ideally located accommodation on the southern side of the Townsville CBD. Both two night stays were booked about 3 months prior during Rydges 'Flash Sales' promotions through PGR. Both stays were the similarly priced, yet our accommodation experience was poles apart. The hotel has excellent parking above and below with access by lift to the foyer and floors above. Both our rooms appeared to be recently renovated and were very comfortable with excellent bedding and normal room inclusions plus smart TV's and wifi. Our first 2 night stay was in a room overlooking the pool below and was quiet, meet all our needs and we considered was a 5/5. Our 2nd stay of 2 nights, reception staff told me, 'we gave you views over the city', Well the 2nd floor overlooked the brewery and car park across the road and yes I suppose some of the CBD. No problems so far, as the room was similar to our 1st stay. Come evening and the room had no sound proofed windows and what occurred outside of our Friday & Saturday night stay, certainly was heard in the room, though not to the same extent as being on the street and all the rooms facing the street must have similar issues. Being located near the lift we heard late on the 1st night, excited noisey children leaving the lift, late night/early morning returning guests, who appeared to use seating near the lift, whilst discussing world events and letting doors to rooms bang closed. The 2nd night we listened to a late night meaningful family discussion, with other guests again using the seating to talk, before moving off to their individual rooms and the doors banged closed in the early hours of the morning. One night, I can put up with the noise, but not for two nights. With upgrades done to rooms, they should have included the shower taps in our room having the 'H' and 'C', so children and adults are not left with the guessing game of which is the hot water. I suppose the desk and chair look nice in the room, but the chair is high and the desk is low and I could not face the desk to use it, but sit sideways. We thought the breakfast and evening meals were excellent, whilst there is plenty available outside to give variety for breakfast and evening meals. As an Event shareholder, I suppose the 'algorithms' can be used for the variation in accommodation and someone has to have a room facing the street and averaged my rating for our 4 nights. So much for being a PGR & Discovery Black member for the past 5yrs, it appears to mean nought.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gamain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews