We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$107
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/18
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$107
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/19
ZenHotels.com
US$116
US$102
View deal
SAVE US$14
Expedia.comUS$107
CheapTicketsUS$107
getaroom.comUS$116
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
116
240
200
108
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
240
200
108
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palmer street bit dated comfortable bed undercover parking southbank position marina eateries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2021 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment one street behind the Rydges main building. Great location to stadium and cowboys leagues club. Apartment was recently 90% renovated. Felt clean and modern. Great aircon in every room.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TAS_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2021

We had two seperate visits to this ideally located accommodation on the southern side of the Townsville CBD. Both two night stays were booked about 3 months prior during Rydges 'Flash Sales' promotions through PGR. Both stays were the similarly priced, yet our accommodation experience was poles apart. The hotel has excellent parking above and below with access by lift to the foyer and floors above. Both our rooms appeared to be recently renovated and were very comfortable with excellent bedding and normal room inclusions plus smart TV's and wifi. Our first 2 night stay was in a room overlooking the pool below and was quiet, meet all our needs and we considered was a 5/5. Our 2nd stay of 2 nights, reception staff told me, 'we gave you views over the city', Well the 2nd floor overlooked the brewery and car park across the road and yes I suppose some of the CBD. No problems so far, as the room was similar to our 1st stay. Come evening and the room had no sound proofed windows and what occurred outside of our Friday & Saturday night stay, certainly was heard in the room, though not to the same extent as being on the street and all the rooms facing the street must have similar issues. Being located near the lift we heard late on the 1st night, excited noisey children leaving the lift, late night/early morning returning guests, who appeared to use seating near the lift, whilst discussing world events and letting doors to rooms bang closed. The 2nd night we listened to a late night meaningful family discussion, with other guests again using the seating to talk, before moving off to their individual rooms and the doors banged closed in the early hours of the morning. One night, I can put up with the noise, but not for two nights. With upgrades done to rooms, they should have included the shower taps in our room having the 'H' and 'C', so children and adults are not left with the guessing game of which is the hot water. I suppose the desk and chair look nice in the room, but the chair is high and the desk is low and I could not face the desk to use it, but sit sideways. We thought the breakfast and evening meals were excellent, whilst there is plenty available outside to give variety for breakfast and evening meals. As an Event shareholder, I suppose the 'algorithms' can be used for the variation in accommodation and someone has to have a room facing the street and averaged my rating for our 4 nights. So much for being a PGR & Discovery Black member for the past 5yrs, it appears to mean nought.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gamain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2021

Air conditioning doesn't work
Hasn't never been renovated
Rooms very average and unimpressive
The only good thing about it is it's in the best food street in Townsville and it's location .

The staff are really nice .. it's a shame the staff have to try make guest comfortable when clearly the owners need to upgrade air conditioning and renovate the whole place

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank lizzydodd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2021 via mobile

Great service and good accommodation great destination friendly staff and good place to return to in the future good places to eat in walking distance good tourist information and history of a good football team.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank reneeb883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2021 via mobile

Asked to have a spa room, no problems. Air conditioning was out.
Reception was great, was a little disappointed with the air conditioning being down.
The pool area needs fixing. Outside looked a bit dated and run down.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Y7347QYshaunb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews