We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$75
Hotels.comUS$72
PricelineUS$75
CheapTicketsUS$72
eDreamsUS$75
Agoda.comUS$76
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
43
54
28
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
43
54
28
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle hill walking distance to town great place to stay would stay here again stayed nights location is great bed was comfortable motel microwave strand accommodation woolworths pets units eateries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2019 via mobile

Pet friendly accommodation. Walking distance to town. Central location to town and The Strand. Room has good size and clean. Staff at reception were friendly. Will definitely go back there for next visit.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jasminelmw36
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajaR573, Manager at The Robert Towns, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Hi Jasmine, thanks so much for your kinds words. We're delighted to be able to offer our guests and their furry family a place to stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you're next visiting Townsville.
Regards, Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019 via mobile

Clean rooms with good size bathroom. Cheap as a close to the strand and the city good place to stay. Dog friendly. Nice pool
Restaurant not open at all though but didn’t bother us. Can walk to Sunday markets

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MugsyKel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajaR573, Front Office Manager at The Robert Towns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2019

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2019

The Robert Towns is conveniently located for my purposes when in Townsville on business - not far from the airport and an easy walk to city locations. This time I went for a bigger room with a balcony, which allows you to sit outside and enjoy a quiet Townsville Premium as you wind down. The room was clean and comfortable, good value for the rate offered.

Room tip: Request a balcony
Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajaR573, Front Office Manager at The Robert Towns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2019

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2019

We checked in late after a big day of driving from Rockhampton with our 1 year old daughter (I called prior to let them know to leave our key in the lock box). We had a trailer on our car, we got to the motel and a man came out and was so happy to help in making us room for our trailer, on the other hand was a lady that worked on the premises saying we should be parking out on the ‘f-ing’ street it’s not their problem, why should they have to help make room for us, etc. I was standing right next to where she was sitting running her mouth and she had no idea that I was there. My blood was boiling. No one asked her to get off her butt and help and it didn’t even concern her, and honestly we would have been happy to park on the street, we were just lucky that the other gentleman that worked there was awake when we arrived and offered to make room.
We booked a pet friendly room, yes I understand that there is going to be general wear and tear in the room but there is no reason for it to be filthy. Our dog is a strictly stay off the furniture dog, I understand some people like to have them puppers snuggle with them and that’s great, but if you’re going to have pet friendly rooms you need to understand this and clean accordingly. There was no need for us to walk into a room with hair on the leather couch (easy to clean), disgusting bathroom, dog hair on the bed sheets, and just a pure stench of a sinus recipe.
Oh and we payed $130 for the one night and couldn’t even set our aircon to the temperature we wanted, it was locked on 23deg, we sleep with our aircon on 18deg at home and we should be allowed to do so in a room for $130 a night.
So we checked in at 9pm and checked out at 5:30am with headaches and bad tastes in our mouths.
Never again, horrible experience.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Shantell Riarne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajaR573, Front Office Manager at The Robert Towns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

thanks for taking the time to review your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2019 via mobile

Yes we got a good deal on the price but we didn’t know that despite being there for one week the rooms would not be serviced at all. The location is perfect for business as it is literally in the heart of the city but parking was a pain in the motel itself, the bathroom was not completely clean on arrival and the ripped curtains represent the general condition of the place.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajaR573, Front Office Manager at The Robert Towns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2019

thanks for taking the time to review your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews