We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/08
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/08
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$101
View deal
Hotels.comUS$105
eDreamsUS$105
Agoda.comUS$106
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 043)
Filter reviews
1 043 results
Traveller rating
515
369
97
32
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
515
369
97
32
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar shaker rooftop pool great location leagues club central location buffet breakfast centre of town across the road flinders street bed and pillows castle hill great place to stay comfortable stay magnetic island room service business trip walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1 043 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Highly recommend! Perfect location (walking distance to everything), clean and we felt safe (which was important travelling with children)
Will definitely stay again if we are in Townsville again.
Staff went above and beyond to ensure we were happy and had everything we needed.
Breakfast was delicious!
Pool was lovely and the view from the rooftop pool area was so nice especially at night.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank QueenslandTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your recommendation. I'm very pleased to hear that you liked our hotel's perfect location, cleanliness, safety and affordability.

We look forward to your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2021 via mobile

We had 2 nights in a lovely suite, seperate bedroom with dining sitting room. We had been upgraded for my husband’s birthday and our 45th Wedding anniversary. Views to Castle Hill were amazing. Breakfast buffet was included. There was a good selection and coffee was delicious. All staff were helpful and attentive. We went to the happy hour between 5-7pm which we thoroughly recommend. The antipasto and cheese platter at $20 for two was outstanding value well worth having

Room tip: The hotel is very central to everything - walking distance to The Strand and Rockpool. The Museum. Uber or taxi to Castle hill $15
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank janewA2548TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021

Dear valued guest,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary and birthday stay with amazing view of Castle Hill and delicious breakfast and platter, and that you found our team attentive and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2021

Enjoyed a week at the Grand Chancellor. We had a 1 bedroom apartment. The room was very comfortable with everything we needed. The buffet breakfast was excellent! - highly recommended!

The location is great - close to everything

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank Lindy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Dear Lindy004,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review.

It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your long stay with us, especially the comfort of your apartment and the excellent buffet breakfast, something that we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021

Staff took the time to meet all our needs, including upgrading us for a bigger room. The restaurant meals were delicious and staff obliging. Pillows a little hard for my personal liking but understand this can happen.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Curiosity382730
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially our friendly and professional staff and the delicious meals.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

On the second day we arrived back to the room and nothing had been done. Wet towels on the floor and new towels left inside the door and no housekeeping. Called reception, not much interest and said they would’refer’ it back to housekeeping
Not happy
Think carefully if you want to stay there

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robhR4081VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to the servicing of your room. There might have been a Do not Disturb sign on your door which was why your room was not serviced.

We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been passed on to our Hotel Manager so that he can investigate this issue further.

We hope that you do stay with us again in the future, so that we can demonstrate our true standards and our commitment to exceeding guest expectations.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews