We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/30
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/30
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$118
US$109
View deal
Expedia.comUS$118
Hotels.comUS$118
TravelocityUS$118
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 029)
Filter reviews
1 029 results
Traveller rating
505
367
97
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
505
367
97
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar shaker rooftop pool great location leagues club central location buffet breakfast centre of town across the road flinders street bed and pillows castle hill great place to stay comfortable stay magnetic island room service business trip walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1 029 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2021

Got stuck locked out after hours at booked hotel and Grand Chancellor were able to book me in and enable me to get a night's sleep when I showed up at midnight. Thanks guys! Nice clean rooms, lovely reception service.

Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank chrissweeney2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

Dear chrissweeney2021,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our team lovely round the clock.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

The Hotel is old and dated but don't let that put you off. It is clean and tidy with excellent service. The breakfast room staff are amazing. Nothing was to much trouble and they were so plesant and genuin even when dealing with some demanding customers as we witnessed this on Sunday morning wow so polite and efficient while still making everyone feel welcome despite the restaurant being busy. Reception were friendly and welcoming on our check in as well.

Room tip: Parking is not included and there are Markets on Sunday so no car can park in street. Recommend you pay the extra for secure parking
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

Dear Rosemary,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially the pleasant and genuine service from our staff, something that we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Nice stay, comfortable room. Executive king. Good balcony with great view of the stadium. Also great view from roof top, pool, stadium and surrounding Townsville. small fridge with no option to make ice. A mini bar may be a good addition. TV a bit small for this room. Really nice breakfast, Bacon, poached eggs, mushrooms, hash brown.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nadine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

Dear Nadine,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially our breakfast, our rooms and the rooftop with great view.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2021

make sure your credit card is full they want large deposit that takes over a week to refund, but yet they can take in 1 second. I was there for a trip paid for in full by workcover for medical visit to hospital. but they still wanted me to pay deposit after everything was paid for

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank chefscotty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Tarrant, Owner at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Hi chefscotty1

It is disappointing that you have felt it necessary to leave a 1-star review.

The hotel simply places a pre-authorization hold of $100 on a guest credit card upon check-in. This is held as cover for incidental costs that may occur during your stay, for example, room service or dining in the restaurant.

The length of time the money takes to show back in your account is dependant on who you bank with as the hotel releases the hold upon check out.

Kind Regards,

John
Area DOSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2021

The Staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. I was very please to see how clean the room, bathroom and windows all were. Parking facilities, while not onsite, were very good. I would happily stay again next time I visit Townsville.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Batman6173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Dear Batman6173,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel's cleanliness and off-site parking facilities, and that you found our team friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews