We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$106
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/24
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/24
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$103
View deal
Hotels.comUS$106
PricelineUS$154
eDreamsUS$154
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 042)
Filter reviews
1 042 results
Traveller rating
514
369
97
32
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
514
369
97
32
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar shaker rooftop pool great location leagues club central location buffet breakfast centre of town across the road flinders street bed and pillows castle hill great place to stay comfortable stay magnetic island room service business trip walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1 042 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Nice stay, comfortable room. Executive king. Good balcony with great view of the stadium. Also great view from roof top, pool, stadium and surrounding Townsville. small fridge with no option to make ice. A mini bar may be a good addition. TV a bit small for this room. Really nice breakfast, Bacon, poached eggs, mushrooms, hash brown.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nadine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

Dear Nadine,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially our breakfast, our rooms and the rooftop with great view.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2021

make sure your credit card is full they want large deposit that takes over a week to refund, but yet they can take in 1 second. I was there for a trip paid for in full by workcover for medical visit to hospital. but they still wanted me to pay deposit after everything was paid for

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank chefscotty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Tarrant, Owner at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Hi chefscotty1

It is disappointing that you have felt it necessary to leave a 1-star review.

The hotel simply places a pre-authorization hold of $100 on a guest credit card upon check-in. This is held as cover for incidental costs that may occur during your stay, for example, room service or dining in the restaurant.

The length of time the money takes to show back in your account is dependant on who you bank with as the hotel releases the hold upon check out.

Kind Regards,

John
Area DOSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2021

The Staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. I was very please to see how clean the room, bathroom and windows all were. Parking facilities, while not onsite, were very good. I would happily stay again next time I visit Townsville.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Batman6173
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Dear Batman6173,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel's cleanliness and off-site parking facilities, and that you found our team friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2021

I really could not fault this hotel, from the efficient, pleasant reception staff to the spacious, well appointed and equipped room.
Excellent sea, Ross River and Magnetic Island views from the 18th floor room.
Delicious breakfast.
Close to all CBD shopping, transport and attractions.
Definitely stay again, if visiting Townsville in the near future

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eric994
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Dear Eric994,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay with our hotel's central location, spacious rooms, great views and delicious meals, especially our efficient and pleasant reception staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2021

I was here two nights. I chose the hotel because: it had a good location - I was walking from the train; it had great deals on their website - I got a breakfast and a dinner; it has great views. The breakfast was great - a served buffet. Dinner was good. The pool was delightful. I walked up Castle Hill from the hotel - easy to get to the base. I'd stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RedPuffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Dear RedPuffins,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review.

It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially the hotel's central location with great views and meals.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews