We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$102
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
PricelineUS$105
Booking.comUS$105
CheapTicketsUS$105
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 042)
Filter reviews
1 042 results
Traveller rating
514
369
97
32
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
514
369
97
32
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar shaker rooftop pool great location leagues club central location buffet breakfast centre of town across the road flinders street bed and pillows castle hill great place to stay comfortable stay magnetic island room service business trip walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1 042 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

Staying over the weekend and the hotel is full to capacity. No housekeeping available on Sunday or Monday. That’s an example of management being very cheap. You’ve taken payment, no doubt some rooms sold at a premium yet you can’t provide a service for two days? Here’s a little reminder, you’re a hotel!! If you can’t operate properly over a holiday period then you’re really not trying very hard are you. This is clearly nothing more than about higher wages.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Dear Andyoz,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to our Housekeeping service during the Anzac Day long weekend.

We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been passed on to our Hotel Manager so that he can investigate this issue further.

We hope that you do stay with us again in the future, so that we can have another chance to serve you better.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2021

I would like to provide my highest commendation and deepest thanks for the wonderful Hotel Grand Chancellor and the Staff. I cannot say enough good things about these lovely people and the magnificent place. (I was a long-term resident there, nearly 2.5 years, and left only because I had to move to another city.) Let me tell you about a few reasons why this hotel is so wonderful, although I could write for pages. First, and perhaps most important, are the people. The staff are incredibly kind, dedicated, hard-working, helpful, and all-around amazing. They knock themselves out to make sure people are happy and well looked after at the hotel. They also are constantly smiling, cheerful, energetic, and enthusiastic to help. They make each guest feel like the most treasured guest in the world. Second is the place. As an engineer who specialises in buildings and healthy indoor environments, I can tell you that this hotel is the best of the best. The rooms and facilities are meticulously and perfectly clean, and the building is superbly and impressively maintained. The views are also spectacular - overlooking the city and the Great Barrier Reef. The fresh ocean air comes right into your room over your private balcony. And the hotel is 100% non-smoking. You won't find that in other hotels in Queensland. Third, is the location. It is ideal. The property is situated right in the middle of the CBD, and everything you need is just a short and pleasant walk away. It's also just a short hop away from all the major attractions and facilities in Townsville. Finally, this hotel is a vacation destination in and of itself. It's great for all kinds of travellers and trips - for singles, couples, and families - and for holiday, business, or long term. Once you come, you won't want to leave!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Dear Anne,

Thank you so much for your beautiful words. You have always been kind to everyone around and have become an incredible friend of the HGCT team. Your passion and your smile have motivated everyone here everyday.

We appreciate your friendship, your kindness and your time staying with us. We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back again the near future.

Kind regards,

HGCT Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021

The ease of booking in and the quality of the service of the staff was outstanding. The room was clean and comfortable and the view was amazing. Great location, walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daydream675583
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Taylor, Sales at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

Dear Daydream675583,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our team friendly and enjoyed the views.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Jake, Business Development Executive - QLD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2021

Had a lovely few days in Townsville staying at The Grand Chancellor, staff were friendly and helpful. I didn’t use any of the food and beverage services so can’t comment on those however the my room was clean and spacious and very relaxing. The roof top pool was great for quick dips. Would stay again.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geoffybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Dear Geoffybear,

Thanks so much for your complimentary review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our team friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2021

An amazing check in experience that makes sure you're taken care of. A clean room that looks stunning and a bed that made me want to stay there forever.

The cooks craft mouth watering meals that make you think about them after you've eaten them.

The staff are amazing and friendly.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank McKennaB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Dear McKennaB19,

Thanks so much for your review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your check-in experience with our amazing and friendly associates, and that you liked the bed, the room and your meals.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews