We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$106
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$102
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Hotels.comUS$105
eDreamsUS$106
Prestigia.comUS$109
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 042)
Filter reviews
1 042 results
Traveller rating
514
369
97
32
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
514
369
97
32
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar shaker rooftop pool great location leagues club central location buffet breakfast centre of town across the road flinders street bed and pillows castle hill great place to stay comfortable stay magnetic island room service business trip walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1 042 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2021

Had a lovely few days in Townsville staying at The Grand Chancellor, staff were friendly and helpful. I didn’t use any of the food and beverage services so can’t comment on those however the my room was clean and spacious and very relaxing. The roof top pool was great for quick dips. Would stay again.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geoffybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Dear Geoffybear,

Thanks so much for your complimentary review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our team friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2021

An amazing check in experience that makes sure you're taken care of. A clean room that looks stunning and a bed that made me want to stay there forever.

The cooks craft mouth watering meals that make you think about them after you've eaten them.

The staff are amazing and friendly.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank McKennaB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Dear McKennaB19,

Thanks so much for your review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your check-in experience with our amazing and friendly associates, and that you liked the bed, the room and your meals.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

Stayed here for 16 days , for work, great room service menu, great rooftop pool and gym which I used daily. The car parking while secure is a bit expensive, and the wi fi never worked , but gladly I have lots of 5G data , the Netflix accounts on TVs also didn’t work, but gladly had my own laptop.

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment, while a little tired , it’s was clean and neat. The house keeping would often come late, up to 400pm which was a little inconvenient as I was working very early and finished by 200pm each day.

Staff very friendly and would accommodate any needs.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank janesK7208JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Taylor, Sales at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2021

Dear janesK7208JC,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay, particularly our service and amenities. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in terms of our complimentary Wi-Fi.

We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been passed on to head office so this can be reviewed.

We hope that you do stay with us again in the future, so that we can demonstrate our true standards and our commitment to exceeding guest expectations.

Kind regards,

Jake, Business Development Executive - QLD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2021

A great place to stay. Lots of services and places to eat or grab a coffee just a short stroll from the hotel. The room was spacious and had everything you need to keep you comfortable during your stay. The bathroom was bright and modern, and the shower had lots of water :) Nothing worse than a shower you need to move around in to get wet!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bytes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Taylor, Sales at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2021

Dear bytes64,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our rooms comfortable, and location central.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Jake, Business Development Executive - QLD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2021

excellent location, we had an executive king room overlooking the ocean with a balcony. The only thing i would suggest is to have a jug for cold water in the fridge for hot summer townsville nights. otherwise bed and pillows were comfy. would stay again.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Taylor, Sales at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2021

Dear Shelley,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our room views.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind regards,

Jake, Business Development Executive - QLD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews