We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
41
19
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
41
19
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews my day stay small shopping complex family room clean rooms comfortable bed car parking visiting townsville hospital coles accommodation microwave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018

We stayed twice at the Rose during our visit to the area, the Rose is run by a lovely couple Jacqui and Andrew who go the extra mile as do the wonderful team who support them.
The rooms are immaculately cleaned daily to a very high standard and provide a kettle,fridge,toaster,microwave and TV and beds to any mixture singles doubles etc and are sumptuous comfortable.
There is a very welcoming pool for those that like to cool down
The Rose has a restaurant which serves excellent large portions of home cooked food in a no fuss way complemented by a small bar at more than reasonable prices, other residents and locals provide lovely company over a few drinks.
Needless to say we will return to stay on our next visit to the area which hopefully will not be long. A very reasonably priced Motel.
Thank you Jacqui and Andrew. Doug and Jan N UK residence

Room tip: Only ground and first floor,we liked first floor
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DOUGIE1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

A large clean room with a comfortable king sized bed. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Good amenities. Close to all necessary facilities. For a business trip over night, having free WiFi is essential. Would definitely recommend a visit

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Lin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We chose the Colonial Rose Motel after reading reviews on Booking.com and Trip Advisor. When we arrived at this hotel we were pleased to find that the ground floor room we had requested had been arranged. Check-in was very efficient and friendly. We were offered wi-fi details and were also asked how many devices we needed log-in details for. We booked a table for dinner in the hotel’s restaurant where the portions were more than generous and the food tasty.
The room had both an overhead fan and an air conditioner as well as plenty of power points to recharge devices. The bed was outstandingly comfortable and we had a great night’s sleep. It was a pity we had to have such an early start the next morning. Extra blankets and pillows were available if needed in the cupboard where we also found an ironing board and iron as well as a safe. The owners appeared to be very competent in managing the property and inspired confidence. They were happy for us to pay the bill the night before so we could leave by 6.30 am before the office opened. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay at the Colonial Rose again.

Room tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have luggage.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David and Emma H, Owner at Colonial Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you very much for leaving such a comprehensive review.
We take great pride in our motel and love when people are able to take the time out of their busy lives to let us know their opinions. Daily, we strive for top service, cleanliness and comfort, with the option of a decent meal at night, which it appears we were able to deliver to you during your stay.
We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable night sleep and hope that you got to your destination OK given your early departure.
Thank you again for your review.
We look forward to when you next visit us!
Kind Regards
Jacqui and Andrew
Emma and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed there recently for 3 nights and there isn't one thing I can think of to make my stay more pleasant. Beautiful and clean (which is my most important criteria) beds were so comfy, pay tv, free wifi, they even had a microwave with some crockery and cutlery which was very convenient and saved me heaps of money. Very central location which was perfect. Going back next month to say in a two bedroom unit with my family.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David and Emma H, Owner at Colonial Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you Kylie,
We are glad to hear you found everything to you liking, that your unit was clean, and that your bed was comfortable!
We are happy that the microwave, and few simple pieces of crockery and cutlery made it easier on you.
We look forward to seeing you again!
David and Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

stayed here for 2 nights with my mother as had to go to the hospital in townsville . great service, nice clean rooms and comfy beds. had dinner and it was delicious. thank you for a great stay- will be back. john mifsud

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lyndajohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David and Emma H, Owner at Colonial Rose Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you John,
Always a pleasure to have your company.
We are happy that you found our rooms clean, that your bed was comfortable and that you enjoyed your dinner.
We appreciate your time to place a review.
Kind Regards
Andrew and Jacqui
David and Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews