We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/13
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/14
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$132
US$98
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/14
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$110
Hotels.comUS$109
Destinia.comUS$132
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
324
299
109
52
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
324
299
109
52
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palmer street great location ribs and rumps bedroom apartment full kitchen across the river great place to stay reception staff pleasant stay great facilities good size the ground floor would stay again walking distance washing machine and dryer business trip magnetic island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2021 via mobile

Stayed in a studio room 210B on the second level where pool,and gym is located. No kitchen facilities but they do supply you with sink, kettle, cutlery and plates if you bring in food. Some basic tea/coffee sachets and small milk as expected.
There is a shower over the bath, but bathroom very roomy.
There is a communal washing machine and dryer on the this level but didn't use as it was short stay.
Walking distance to a few eateries but still a few places not open due to covid, we ended up in the Strand most occasions.
The pool is lovely and gym basic with treadmills, rower, bike and basic cable machine. Gym has has no ongoing cooling so in the middle of summer you need to go in to turn it on 2hrs before you're ready to work out so room temp can drop to make it comfortable to use the cardio machines.
Would stay here again if we had the same great deal on price.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank AGhoncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager, Owner at Oaks Townsville Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2021

Dear AGhoncho
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Oaks Gateway Suites.
I am glad to receive your honest and comprehended feedback. Our one-Bedroom apartment onward are facilitated with a full size self-contained kitchen, internal laundry, separate bedroom, open layout living area and balcony.
I have taken your valuable feedback and ensure the team have received your feedback.
Look forward to seeing you next time you are in Townsville.
Kind regards,
Alagu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021

We arrived and had a wet and dirty bathroom, called for towels which receptionist said we would have to go down and get ourselves as no one else was available. 2 mins later housekeeping barged in and asked us ‘what we were doing in here’. Told them we checked in and she walked out not saying anything. That night, 4am we were evacuated for a faulty fire alarm which they couldn’t turn off for over an hour as per firefighters. Can’t say I’ll be back!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank lugarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager, Owner at Oaks Townsville Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2021

Dear lugarland,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Oaks Gateway Suites. We appreciate the time you have taken to reviews us. I am very disappointed to read that the guest satisfaction during your stay has been very low.
Here at the Oaks Gateway we adhere to a very high standard operating procedure through out the entire hotel operations.
I have already spoken to the team to ensure our property exceed the industry standards.
In regards to the building regulations, we have very strict and regulated system in place as this is a mixed use building and Strata Titled. There are different layers such as Oaks Management, QFES, Local Council, Body Corporate Management company, reputed independent Fire Protection contractor, independent WH&S auditor, Independent HVAC contractor etc. I can assure you that the building with these layers of protection ensures the safety and integrity of all hotel guest & residents. All our monthly, quarterly & annual programs carried out on a regular basis by various contractors.
Please accept my sincerer apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Kind regards,
Alagu Murugan S.R.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2021

Great location,walking distance to resturants. View from our balcony was great. 2 bedroom apt was very spacious and comfy with a full sized fridge and microwave
in the kitchen, and parking onsite was easy.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank adsteffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager, Owner at Oaks Townsville Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2021

Dear adsteffan,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Oaks Gateway Suites.
We appreciate the time you have taken in reviews us. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and liked our Location & Pool area in particular.
Look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Townsville.
Kind regards,
Alagu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2021

Stayed with friends for a night away. It was easy to check in and had great undercover parking. We enjoyed walking into an air conditioned unit on arrival and relaxed on a King size bed. It was easy to walk to the pubs, clubs and restaurants for dinner and breakfasts.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank mmmmred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager, Owner at Oaks Townsville Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2021

Dear mmmmred,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Oaks Gateway Suites.
We appreciate the time you have taken in reviews us. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and liked our location in particular. At present undercover car parking is complimentary too.
Look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Townsville.
Kind regards,
Alagu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2021

We have stayed here twice now. Great location! Best value for money in Townsville in my opinion. Large apartments. We would ask for a room overlooking the river/pool next time booking. We had this on our first stay. Second stay we overlooked the stadium side, was still nice, but more enjoyable for us to be facing the other side of property.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Hannah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager, Owner at Oaks Townsville Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2021

Dear Hannah V,
Thank you for being a loyal guest at the Oaks Gateway Suites.
I am glad to receive your review and appreciate your time to review us.
I have taken your valuable feedback on-board and ensure the team have received it.
Kind regards,
Alagu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews