We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$137
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$137
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$111
View deal
Booking.comUS$138
FindHotelUS$137
eDreamsUS$138
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveller rating
326
303
109
55
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
326
303
109
55
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palmer street great location ribs and rumps bedroom apartment full kitchen across the river great place to stay reception staff pleasant stay great facilities good size the ground floor would stay again walking distance washing machine and dryer business trip magnetic island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 833 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2021

Great location,walking distance to resturants. View from our balcony was great. 2 bedroom apt was very spacious and comfy with a full sized fridge and microwave
in the kitchen, and parking onsite was easy.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank adsteffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, Owner at Oaks Townsville Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2021

Dear adsteffan,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Oaks Gateway Suites.
We appreciate the time you have taken in reviews us. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and liked our Location & Pool area in particular.
Look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Townsville.
Kind regards,
Alagu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2021

Stayed with friends for a night away. It was easy to check in and had great undercover parking. We enjoyed walking into an air conditioned unit on arrival and relaxed on a King size bed. It was easy to walk to the pubs, clubs and restaurants for dinner and breakfasts.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank mmmmred
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, Owner at Oaks Townsville Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2021

Dear mmmmred,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Oaks Gateway Suites.
We appreciate the time you have taken in reviews us. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and liked our location in particular. At present undercover car parking is complimentary too.
Look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Townsville.
Kind regards,
Alagu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2021

We have stayed here twice now. Great location! Best value for money in Townsville in my opinion. Large apartments. We would ask for a room overlooking the river/pool next time booking. We had this on our first stay. Second stay we overlooked the stadium side, was still nice, but more enjoyable for us to be facing the other side of property.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Hannah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, Owner at Oaks Townsville Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2021

Dear Hannah V,
Thank you for being a loyal guest at the Oaks Gateway Suites.
I am glad to receive your review and appreciate your time to review us.
I have taken your valuable feedback on-board and ensure the team have received it.
Kind regards,
Alagu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2021

The room was dirt and run down. The carpets smelt so bad the room needed to be aired daily. There were large stains and bubbles in the carpet. The couches arm rest were covered in grim and stained. When arriving at the property a cleaner was kind enough to re clean our tiles as they were wet with footprints through out. The kitchen cupboard was missing a door and the dryer only worked for half am hr before making a horrible noise. Staff were made aware however no one came to fix/replace in our stay so we had to use a communal laundry which defeated the purpose of having a apartment room. The elevators were also quite dirty even though there were sign about regular cleaning due to covid.
The location is great and they had a wonderful swimming pool, however no shade in sight which defeats the purpose of using the pool and parents supervising their children in the sun.
I feel many people have reviewed in a similar manner and you get the same reply from management which is a almost like a auto reply very impersonal.
My advice is to look else where this is definialty not 4star

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nicolawO329TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, Owner at Oaks Townsville Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2021

Dear nicolawO329TR,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Oaks Gateway Suites. We appreciate the time you have taken to reviews us. I am very disappointed to read that the guest satisfaction in our two bedroom apartment has been very low.
Here at the Gateway we adhere to a very high housekeeping standards which I have been personally iterating to the team during morning housekeeping team briefing.
I will ensure the housekeeping team are doing everything above and beyond to ensure our apartments exceed the industry standards.
Please accept my sincerer apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Kind regards,
Alagu Murugan S.R.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021

Room was dirty, dust and mouldy. Noisey aircon in the bed so we couldn't sleep in there. Shower falling of the wall in ensuite, cupboards missing in kitchen, stains and bubbles in the carpet. No one fixed any issues after speaking to two different people. Room was very run down. Have stayed at oaks a few times before and never had an issues. This time it was very disappointing.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank loveroffood91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, Owner at Oaks Townsville Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2021

Dear loveroffood91,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Oaks Gateway Suites.
Appreciate the time you have taken in reviews us. I have taken on board your comment about the cleanliness and apologies for any inconvenience caused. Last year's refurbishments have been postponed which I am currently working on.
Look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Townsville.
Kind regards,
Alagu Murugan S.R.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews