We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$95
eDreamsUS$95
Trip.comUS$100
Agoda.comUS$95
TripadvisorUS$95
Expedia.com
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
26
39
15
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
39
15
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road great location within walking distance supermarket strand microwave accommodation eateries rates ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2020

This motel is in a great location, its an older style motel that is clean and comfortable.The building is old and could do with an upgrade, the room was a little on the small size, however it was clean and serviced every day. The bathroom was clean but dated, however the little kitchenette that was in the room was good with a toaster and microwave,
Alec at reception was extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The cafe in front of the motel is very good and you can have breakfast and lunch there overlooking the water.
This is a good budget place to stay, and is close to restaurants and hotels.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pines99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Motel and location just what we wanted. Was able to re-visit the Strand and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Excellent service, very clean. Reception was so helpful and accommodating. We were able to leave our luggage at the motel before check-in time and after check-out time which was so great. Cafe breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable. Good food and good value. Had stayed at the motel when it was new over 50 years ago. My return visit did not disappoint. So special. Thoroughly recommend.

Room tip: Room we stayed in the northern side at the rear of the motel on ground level was very comfortable and not noisy.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019

Located on Townsville's picturesque Strand, the Strand Motel offers a range of motel rooms and units, some with views of the beach and promenade.

With the CBD (approx 1.5 km), ferry & Greyhound coach terminal (approx. 1.2 km), and Castle Hill (approx. 4 km) within reasonable walking distance, and a supermarket and plenty of eateries around the corner, the Strand Motel's location is hard to beat —especially at its price point.

The Strand Motel offers a well-maintained outdoor swimming pool, free WiFi, self-service laundry facilities, luggage storage and some car parking spaces.

I stayed for two separate nights within a week in September 2019, both times in a queen room on the first floor. While the rooms looked equally dated, they were both clean and well equipped.

Room 12 had the nicer balcony and a kitchen sink, but faced the rather big and somewhat rowdy pub located on the other side of the currently vacant block of land between the two establishments.

Room 17 had better views of the Strand, but its balcony was separated from the next room's by some metal bars only. This meant there was not much privacy, with snippets of conversation, TV noise and smoke (smoking is not allowed in the rooms but on the balconies) wafting in from next door. This room also only had one small sink in the bathroom.

Each room type had a flat-screen TV, shower, ceiling fan, air con, fridge, microwave, toaster, and electric kettle. Little touches like the provision of tissue boxes and a chopping board make all the difference.

Staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating, allowing me to check out later and assisting with luggage storage.

I'd recommend the Strand Motel to anyone on a budget seeking a welcoming yet central and convenient place to stay in Townsville.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upsalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2019

Fantastic location, older style accommodation but clean and comfortable, great having a kitchenette for tea and toast, Easy walk to cafes and shops, The Strand which is a wonderful walking path around the waterfront directly opposite, very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2019 via mobile

The great location is the reason why I chose this place.
It is an older place but it was clean. It had all the amenities I needed , except for an iron.
The staff were excellent. I had my suitcase carried up and down the stairs.
There is a cafe downstairs for breakfast and you get a complimentary coffee.
As I am a teetotaller, I had my morning cup on my balcony, overlooking the ocean.
Located right on the strand, with all the restaurants, the Strand Walk and a taxi rank at the corner.
You also have easy access to the shopping mall and GPO behind the motel.
Free wifi access.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Dagboek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews