We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
23
31
12
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
31
12
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road great location night stay walking distance rockpool strand australia pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here twice on our way to Hinchinbrook Island and thought it was a great place to stay. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy. The hotel is within walking distance of some of the best attractions and restaurants and right across the road from the rock pool on the Strand. The reception staff were a standout - they were so helpful and friendly. I'd highly recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fearless803025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We decided to stay here so we were close to the strand. It was the perfect place to stay. The kids took their scooters and we were able to easily walk to get ice cream. The only down side was the rock pool being closed but the kids were still able to swim in the motels pool. The man at the counter was very friendly and helpful. We got two family rooms next to one another and it was perfect!! The rooms are really nice and Bri g on the top floor meant one room had water views.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ashelks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped here on route to cairns . The lady was most helpful and friendly.
Our room was clean and ideal for our stopover. Had a fridge , coffee facilities and a tv.
The lady lent us towels for swimming which was another great gesture
Would recommend

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mrslaurag86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

1positive - clean bedding that’s it.

On the negative:
- air con was louder than a freight train, keep us up all night.
- ceiling fan only worked on low speed setting.
- room was stinking hot during stay (May 2018), it was cooler outside!!!
- chipped and broken tiles in the shower.
- sink had cracks in it.
- dual flush toilet only did short flush... no long flush.
- curtain fell down constantly because the rail has no end caps.
- Tiny TV (19 inch TEAC)... didn’t know you could still buy TVs this small. Difficult to watch in bed.
- Mirror in bathroom was partly missing (mirror coating on mirror was peeling/worn off).
-ANTS & COCKROACHES in the room!!!

It was a budget room ($140/night), it was a humiliating experience for us and I will not recommend to our friends. Even worse was finding out better hotels had cheaper prices, don’t I feel like a c*** now.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jeffsL5096UN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally K, Manager at Shoredrive Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Good Morning Jeff,
We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
What a shame you didn't tell us that you had a problem with the room while you were here, as
we would have been happy to upgrade you to a fully renovated standard room.
As there was a large music festival and a convention on in Townsville the night you stayed, prices had been increased due to high demand.
I have looked up comparitive prices for other hotels on the Strand, and could not find any that we cheaper than us for that date.
We wish you safe travelling, regards,
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in 2 seperate rooms facing the beach. We had one room upstairs with a queen and single, the room downstairs had a queen bed.
Both rooms were spacious with a kitchenette, electric fry pan, microwave, kettle, toaster and bar fridge.
Service from the staff/managers was amazing!
We came home with some coronas and next minute we get a knock at the door and they deliver limes and stubby coolers!
We had trouble with the hot water system one night, which they fixed in no time and let us shower in another room that night.
This is a hidden gem on the strand which we always stay at and love!
Down the corner is a nice little restaurant called Odyssey which I highly recommend and the staff there are just as fabulous as Shoredrive.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank adventuresofkaymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews