We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Your studio room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your studio room
Tabu is located in the Rainforest Hillside suburb of Freshwater, Cairns
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Your studio room
Tabu is located in the Rainforest Hillside suburb of Freshwater, Cairns
Kingsize bed with a view into the Tropical Gardens
Private ensuite attached to studio room
Cocktails by the pool anyone!
Private patio for relaxing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cairns, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kim M
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What a wonderful, relaxing, tranquil, beautiful, place. One is surrounded by exotic tropical plants and you can see a few creatures as well, a local frog can be found in the brush. Recommend a dip in the plunge pool at night, a great vantage point to look up at the stars!.
Breakfasts were just what was needed - great fresh fruit, an egg and granola.
The hosts are very welcoming and assist with tours and things you may need.We had not booked a car, but with the help of the hosts, they were able to book us a car and as well, get a great deal for us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Hi Kim, Hi Ken! Great to hear from you .. Hope the return to a Northern Hemisphere Winter was a nice contrast to the heat of the Tropics. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us as it was really nice to meet you two. Hope to see you back in the future :)
All the best ,Mark and Fairlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry A
1 review
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Cannot rate Tabu B&B highly enough! Fairlie and Mark are amazing hosts and made us feel at home the minute we met them. The accomodation is large, beautifully decorated and situated in the middle of a lush, tropical garden filled with beautiful birds and butterflies. Breakfast is delicious and hearty; we had eggs, toast, fruit, yoghurt, juice, tea/coffee but there was also muslie, meats, cheese etc if you wanted and all enjoyed sitting on the deck outside your room. Mark and Fairlie gave us a tour of their gardens and a few cuttings to take home and terrific advice for our own garden. We highly recommend staying here and can say for certain we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Really look forward to catching up with you again Kerry and James. I hope the Persian Shield and Variegated Pineapple grow beautifully for you. And, Thankyou again for the stunning Sunbird painting. (Still trying to find the best spot). PS; The Frogmouths in the Lychee Tree said to say high to the Blondie!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_J_Mc...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You have to stay here!”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This is the best bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in. In a great setting in a wonderful garden, great to sit in the evening a enjoy a bottle of wine and enjoy the surroundings. Breakfasts are very tasty! The owners are great and very friendly, would stay here again no questions!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevbb
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing B&B in beautiful garden”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Tabu B&B. Mark and Fairlie were fantastic hosts and made us feel really welcome. The place is idylic, set in the middle of their tropical garden. The breakfast was one of the best we've ever had on our travels. Couldn't recommend enough if you want to stay around Cairns but not be in the busy centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Thanks Kevin, it was lovely having you and Hannes both here. Glad we could help make your time in Cairns a nice one. Thanks for the comment on the breakfast, I will tell Fairlie as she prides herself in preparing a nice surprise!
Regards,Mark and Fairlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae-Marie...
Princeville, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Botanical Hideaway”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Nestled in a quiet neighborhood in the foothills of Cairns lies this charming B & B run by Fairlie and Mark. The bedroom/bath sits behind the couple's home in a tropical wonderland of exotic plants. A basket full of delicious breakfast foods is served at the outside table surrounded by foliage, with water features and bird songs adding to the atmosphere.

The bed is very comfortable and the modern inside/outside bathroom is lovely. If you're lucky you'll have a green tree frog sharing your shower.

Although a 15 minute ride from Cairns, the location is perfect for day trips to Kuranda, Hartley's Crocodile Adventures, and the Daintree as the tour companies will pick you up from the Freshwater Train Station, a 5 minute walk from the B & B.

Fairlie and Mark are the perfect hosts, friendly and helpful, ensuring that your stay is the best it can be. I highly recommend Tabu B & B for your Cairn's accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The tropical setting, the hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Wonderful to meet you both and many thanks again for spending some time with us. It was especially nice to hear your stories of Kauai and I really appreciated Toms help with moving the oven! Hope we can catch up some time in your home town.
All the best Mark and Fairlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing