We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing B&B in beautiful garden”
other travellers have booked this property
Your studio room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your studio room
Tabu is located in the Rainforest Hillside suburb of Freshwater, Cairns
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Your studio room
Tabu is located in the Rainforest Hillside suburb of Freshwater, Cairns
Kingsize bed with a view into the Tropical Gardens
Private ensuite attached to studio room
Cocktails by the pool anyone!
Private patio for relaxing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cairns, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kevbb
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing B&B in beautiful garden”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Tabu B&B. Mark and Fairlie were fantastic hosts and made us feel really welcome. The place is idylic, set in the middle of their tropical garden. The breakfast was one of the best we've ever had on our travels. Couldn't recommend enough if you want to stay around Cairns but not be in the busy centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Thanks Kevin, it was lovely having you and Hannes both here. Glad we could help make your time in Cairns a nice one. Thanks for the comment on the breakfast, I will tell Fairlie as she prides herself in preparing a nice surprise!
Regards,Mark and Fairlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae-Marie...
Princeville, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Botanical Hideaway”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Nestled in a quiet neighborhood in the foothills of Cairns lies this charming B & B run by Fairlie and Mark. The bedroom/bath sits behind the couple's home in a tropical wonderland of exotic plants. A basket full of delicious breakfast foods is served at the outside table surrounded by foliage, with water features and bird songs adding to the atmosphere.

The bed is very comfortable and the modern inside/outside bathroom is lovely. If you're lucky you'll have a green tree frog sharing your shower.

Although a 15 minute ride from Cairns, the location is perfect for day trips to Kuranda, Hartley's Crocodile Adventures, and the Daintree as the tour companies will pick you up from the Freshwater Train Station, a 5 minute walk from the B & B.

Fairlie and Mark are the perfect hosts, friendly and helpful, ensuring that your stay is the best it can be. I highly recommend Tabu B & B for your Cairn's accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The tropical setting, the hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Wonderful to meet you both and many thanks again for spending some time with us. It was especially nice to hear your stories of Kauai and I really appreciated Toms help with moving the oven! Hope we can catch up some time in your home town.
All the best Mark and Fairlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nehasudar...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay in Cairns”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had been searching for places to stay in Cairns as soon as we booked our plane tickets. Did book in at another place too. Then found this place online and loved the pictures. But were still skeptical since most of the time the pictures don't do justice to the real thing. Were we surprised! Absolutely stunning backyard we have ever seen. Spectacular place and even amazing hosts. Had the best stay ever. Thanks Mark and Fairly. Recommend this place 100%.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Situation of the room and the hosts.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Hi Neha and Shan! It was really nice to meet you two, too!. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hoped that we made your trip all the better . Please come again some time if you need a break from the Melbourne City Life.
All the best, Mark and Fairlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flatchang...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fantastic affordable B&B”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Trust me, this little B&B is fantastic. Located in Freshwater just out of Cairns, this B&B is nestled in a lush rainforest which has been created by Mark and Fairlie over the last 7-8 years. Mark, being a Landscape Garden Designer and an avid collector of exotic tropical plants has created the most peaceful, beautiful environment that has to be seen to be believed.

The room is separate to the main house and has a large bedroom, plenty of storage/closets and an amazing outdoor (private & undercover) bathroom. We truly had the best time and loved the interest that Mark and Fairlie showed in ourselves and happily shared some of their stories of this unique property. One thing to know, is that the room does not have a television. Not that it worried us, but as a point of interest.

We dined out a few nights and would recommend the local Red Beret Hotel in Redlynch. The hotel offers a complementary shuttle service to and from the hotel to Tabu. I would also recommend a long stroll around the Botanic Garden which are only a 10 minute drive away from Tabu B&B.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Tropical Gardens & the Breakfast
Liked least: Lack of a TV?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
So nice to meet you two and spend some time . Hope you can make it back down the track and thanks for the review!!!
All the best, Mark and Fairlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabi W
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BEST POSSIBLE PLACE TO STAY IN CAIRNS”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

If you ever get the opportunity to to go to far north Queensland, you MUST try to stay here! It's beautiful beyond what can be conveyed in pictures, and truly feels like a luxury resort. The room is beautiful and tastefully decorated to suit the beautiful outdoor spaces. The ensuite is cleverly designed to give you the privacy of an indoor space, with the novelty of feeling like you're showering in the rainforest itself. There's also a shower tucked away in the garden near the pool if you feel like showering off after a swim :).
Tabu is about as convenient as it is possible to be to Cairns, whilst still being juuust far enough away from the industrial city centre to relax. It's also slightly quicker to get to the Tablelands & Mossman Gorge from here.
Breakfast is to die for. Mark & Fairlie catered to my tricky dietary requirements beautifully, and we enjoyed a picnic basket brought to us each morning with delicious fresh fruit, juice, eggs, cold meats, cereals, yoghurts etc. There were coffee and tea making facilities and a little fridge to store any food/drinks in that we brought home at the end of the day.
Our breakfasts and meals were made more special because of the location; we ate at a lovely table right outside the bedroom door, on the beautiful verandah overlooking the seen-to-be-believed gardens.
By the way, if you're interested in the gardens Mark can give you an excellent tour- he's very knowledgeable.
Mark & Fairlie themselves are wonderful, warm hosts, who will make you feel instantly at home. I really hope we have the pleasure of staying here again in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, it was all-round perfect. The sweet little tree-frog and geckos were a cute little addition :)
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
We also hope to to catch-up with you guys again! It was a delight having you stay. So lovely seeing you relax, as you should on a Tropical holiday.
Fairlie is really pleased you liked her Breakfasts. Always an important facet of B&B stay we feel!. It was a pleasure showing you two around the Garden too.
All the best, Mark and Fairlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing