We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$183
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$239
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$362
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$295
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$136
US$125
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travellers Oasis Backpackers(Cairns)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveller rating
345
237
54
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
237
54
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttle to the airportclose to the airportgreat hostsshuttle servicetaxi rideminute walkcock and bullcontinental breakfastflight pathkitchen facilitiesspent nightsquiet locationsmall balconytown centrelovely poolself cateringbooking tours
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 668 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2016

The hotel makes a great base for your stay and tours. Rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet with a full kitchen. The management (Jeff) went above and beyond to offer a 5 star plus stay. The buffet breakfast is a great deal with good variety to start your busy days.
Also note: the hotel can book all your tours and excursions to make your stay more enjoyable,

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 620traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you, Jeff and Lyn were thrilled to receive your response. They have only been here since mid March and they already love the region! They have experienced many of the tours we book first hand through the eyes of a tourist so are able to honestly advise guests on what trips to take.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Great Managers and Staff very obliging and happy, #Will only stay here when on business or holiday in Cairns area
I will be staying at the Reef Palms every time I visit on business stayed five nights last trip was great and clean and well set out. This time I will go for the breakfast as well looked great

Room Tip: All rooms are excellant
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you, we enjoy having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

After having stayed in higher priced hotels in Cairns and been quite disappointed we decided to change the focus and booked a 1 night stay at Reef Palms before flying out.

What a great find! Lovely staff, got to check-in early when went to leave luggage on hold, great room, comfy bed, loved the pool!!
Breakfast was basic but included in the room price so couldn't complain.

Free shuttles to town at night and airport in the morning are very handy.

Have already booked 2 future stays there.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SirliNiidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Thank you very much, we do try hard and we appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

The biggest issue facing anyone trying to work out where to stay is what is really good value for a decent place to stay. Too many properties are excessively priced for what they offer. Reef Palms is definitely NOT one of these.
Located pretty much on a direct line from airport to city central a taxi cost me $15 each way with about a kilometre walk into the central downtown (and we can all do with a bit of exercise) or only hundreds of metres from the waterfront Esplanade boardwalk into town for the scenic route.
Good amount of free parking if you need it and friendly helpful staff at all times.
Rooms of a generous size with all the basic facilities you could require including a kitchen.
The place may be showing its age a little but given the price it was extremely good value. Even the vending machines had great (non-gouging) prices.
Pool and barbecue area with shuttle buses into town and to airport.
Beds comfortable, showers full flowing and hot.
Trying to find issues ... walls a bit thin so next room occupants can be easily heard and the shower had a continuous drip which was reported on day one but remained unattended to after a four day stay (closing the door solved the noise issue).
Wifi acceptable and free - which much more costly properties can learn from.
All in all more than happy with the choice - especially when on this occasion I decided to take a gamble and go cheaper.

Room Tip: Upstairs at back
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try very hard to provide value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We stayed at the Reef Palms on three different occasions during our three weeks in Queensland in late March/early April 2016. It was our go-to hotel in Cairns, whilst traveling to Kuranda, the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree.

The Reef Palms was very welcoming, and had extremely comfy rooms. We had the huge spa tub, but alas, too warm to want to sit in hot water! Their lovely pool was large, partially shaded and quite refreshing. Staff friendly and accommodating, can book you into a wide variety of local activities, of which there are many!

Their location was ideal, a long block away from the Esplanade, and we could (and did) walk everywhere. In addition to the compact kitchens within our room, we were encouraged to barbecue al fresco along the Esplanade park; picnic areas are clean, shaded and free to all comers.

Prices quite reasonable, too.

Great experience over-all. We would definitely stay here again. Cairns is a very lovely, laid back, tourist and locals alike friendly town.

Room Tip: No elevators, so ground floors might be best if you have a lot of luggage.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

We were so pleased to welcome you more than once during your holiday in North Queensland, we hope you take away fond memories of your stay in Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews