We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 475)
Filter reviews
2 475 results
Traveller rating
847
1 053
411
97
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
847
1 053
411
97
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree holiday inn barramundi warm cookies tour desk bottle shop ocean view buffet breakfast excellent location travel desk duty manager bit dated the great barrier reef an upgrade port douglas cairns esplanade visit cairns
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 2 475 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

I love the fact that the hotel being round means almost all rooms must have some view of the ocean or surrounding hills. Cairns itself has lots of cafes and activities which always makes me think of it as a young person’s town. The hotel is very clean, reception staff are very efficient and the bar area looked great. The wifi is sufficient for email and web browsing but not streaming which is fine. All in all a very pleasant place to stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Kenso99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doubletreecairns2017, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you Kenso99 for taking the time to leave a TripAdvisor review.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay along with our warm and caring service.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a refreshing drink at The Vine Room!

Kind Regards,
Giorgio Romein | Director of Operations
07 40506070

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Marvelous motel and at a good price, the room was great, well appointed and clean just what is expected from the Hilton chain. We had breakfast included and on arrival in the morning when we went to have breakfast we discovered that it was a full buffet breakfast not just a contenetial breakfast. the staff were fantastic and very helpful. Well done to all those involved with this facility. Would recommend this motel to anyone considering accomodation in this area, you cannot go past it.

Room Tip: Rooms are comfortable
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doubletreecairns2017, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Giorgio Romein
Director of Operations
Giorgio.romein@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

This is the second Doubeltree we’ve stayed at and the second that’s been a huge disappointment. Our bed wasn’t made properly - the bottom sheets didn’t even reach the end of the bed, let alone tuck in, and there were no top sheets and our king sized bed had a broken, double sized mattress protector on it. We complained and they offered us a downgraded replacement room. We declined and asked for something equivalent and were given another king room on a lower floor. I wasn’t allowed to touch the bed when we viewed the room to check it was made properly as they would then need house keeping to remake it should they wish to sell it. So we took the room, moved in and found the bed still wasn’t made properly (although better than the last - this time the sheet reached the end but didn’t tuck in) and there was no mattress protector at all. All this happened between 10 and 11pm. The next morning, our pre-ordered room service breakfast never arrived despite us handing the order to a front desk staff member and asking her to change the room number to our new room - something she assured us she would do-so we decided to check out and move. To their credit, they were very helpful about refunding us and very apologetic. Unfortunately, our experience has taught us that one problem at the Doubletree being fixed doesn’t mean there won’t be plenty more over the course of a stay.

The whole hotel is over priced for its condition. The bases under the king beds aren’t secured together properly and it’s caused the old, yellowed mattresses to sink in the middle. The linen doesn’t fit the beds. The bathroom is tired and poorly designed - you can’t get close to any of the counter space because the toilet is placed horizontally in front of it. Our first room didn’t have an ice box - something we didn’t realise it was supposed to have until we moved rooms. Everything is tired and no longer in good condition, which is fine but not for the rates they’re charging.

Also worth noting, tho not a complaint: if you’re still considering this hotel then be aware that on some sites it says they have a spa - it’s a spa pool, not a day spa.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank o0artemis0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doubletreecairns2017, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Giorgio Romein | Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Cairns is not my favorite city, especially if your goal is to have a relaxing vacation. Spend the time and drive up to Port Douglas where you can relax, enjoy yourself, and have better access to the reef. However if you want to spend a night in Cairns before you fly out, or after you fly in that makes a lot of sense, and the DoubleTree in Cairns is a really good place to do that.

The hotel complex is old, but very unique and fun. I love the inside coutyard and the balconies on many rooms. We were greeted with free drink vouchers as Hilton Honors gold, you also get a free breakfast which is nothing to write home about.

There''s a nice tap room in the back of the hotel with unique beers and good wine, definitely worth a visit if you don't want to explore Cairns itself. But you should venture out and take a look, the waterfront walk is quite nice, and the park in the center of town is lovely.

The rooms are very normal, like you would expect from a doubletree, and of course you get your free warm cookie upon arrival which is always a nice treat!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelBear990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doubletreecairns2017, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I do hope your time in Cairns and the Hotel was enjoyable. It is important that we receive feedback from our guests to ensure that our standards are maintained, if not improved upon.
We agree, The Vine Room is a great place to enjoy a local brew and cheese board!
I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Giorgio Romein | Director of Operations
Giorgio.romein@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

We stayed for three nights in the DoubleTree Hilton Cairns during our Australia trip. The hotel is conveniently located in Cairns CBD with good access to restaurants and other amenities. Being a Hilton Honors Gold Member, we did not receive a room upgrade. However, a welcome drink voucher and free continental breakfast was offered. In addition, we also received some lovely warm chocolate cookies as a welcome present.

Your room was located on the fourth floor. The room was clean and featured a modern interior. Unfortunately, the bathroom happened to be tiny. Although the rooms are fairly modern, the overall layout and appearance of the hotel complex is dated and probably requires some makeover at some point.

Breakfast in the mornings was ok, and staff in the breakfast room was very friendly and attentive. Overall, we liked our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt84London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doubletreecairns2017, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review following your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Cairns.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and I am sorry to see you had some issues with other areas. I appreciate your constructive comments and will be sure to communicate with all departments in the Hotel. Your feedback is valuable and greatly appreciated.
I hope we may welcome you back to DoubleTree Cairns in the future to deliver a 5 star rating for you.

Kind Regards,
Giorgio Romein | Director of Operations
Giorgio.romein@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews