We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love markets”

Mindil Beach Markets
Ranked #13 of 79 things to do in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 27 June 2018

If you love markets Then this is a great place to visit.
Great food with so many choices but must admit getting a little expensive.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food stalls"
in 102 reviews
"watch the sunset"
in 68 reviews
"mindil beach"
in 49 reviews
"whip cracking"
in 11 reviews
"arts and crafts"
in 19 reviews
"craft stalls"
in 22 reviews
"paella"
in 10 reviews
"thursday night"
in 26 reviews
"amazing sunset"
in 25 reviews
"dry season"
in 36 reviews
"laksa"
in 21 reviews
"for sale"
in 21 reviews
"great food"
in 31 reviews
"no alcohol"
in 7 reviews
"crepes"
in 12 reviews
"stall holders"
in 11 reviews
"great market"
in 13 reviews
Filter

63 - 67 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We visited these markets on the Sunday when they open at 4:30 PM. They also open on a Thursday. It's great to watch the sunset at the adjoining beach and then go to the market where they have some aboriginal art, lots of good Asian, Indian and some other international foods. Also available are ice creams, lollies, drinks and coffee. There are many other assorted stalls.

There is an indigenous atmosphere with aboriginal women singing along with sticks as well as live music with a guitar and didgeridoos.
The markets are kept clean with frequent rubbish bins which are regularly emptied.

There is ample parking.

We stayed at a hotel on the Esplanade in Darwin and it was approximately a 25 minute walk to the markets. Taxis are available if you don't want to walk.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 915MichaelG915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

went on a thursday evening with a friend for a bite to eat and was surprised how expensive it was for market food better places to eat at cheaper prices in darwin

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 516andrewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Just fabulous with the sun setting on the beach, live music, food galore, and craft booths. We enjoyed walking through the market, hard to choose what to even get to eat. We had Yiros and they were delicious. We had mango ice cream after.
We walked from hotel on Mitchell Street. A 30 min easy walk. And then took cab back for $16.
There are bathrooms, toilet paper was gone by end of market so throw some tissues in your purse ladies!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Spoonermomma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We went down to the market about 8 o’clock Thursday night, found out it closes at 9!
We loved the food range but was a bit disappointed with the lack of other stalls.
Apparently the craft market is On Sunday, unfortunately we weren’t in Darwin long enough to check that out.
Going by the crowd the market is a real crowd puller as people go early and eat on the beach.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank colinc834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mindil Beach Markets also viewed

 

Been to Mindil Beach Markets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing