We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine shop”

Australian Wine Centre
Ranked #34 of 195 Shopping in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: For more than 25 years we have built a reputation for our selective and eclectic range of wines as well as our ability to deliver wines to our customers around the world. Conveniently located in the heart of Sydney at Circular Quay, we stock wines from the most innovative and quality driven producers in the country, as well as maintaining a deep inventory of old and rare vintages.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I travelled to Sydney for the Vivid festival and was suggested this place by both our hotel and the sommelier of a restaurant. We both love our wine and we weren't disappointed at all - the range is HUGE, mostly Australian with some great European wines, and we spent quite a while browsing, and the staff member was able to answer all our questions. We ended up buying 4 bottles of wine and an Australian gin, and cannot wait to try them - we will definitely be coming back when were are next in Sydney. Thanks, AWC!

1  Thank EvanXTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary P, Public Relations Manager at Australian Wine Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Hi Evan,

Many thanks for visiting our store, and for taking the time to share your thoughts. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit! It's great to hear that both hotels and sommeliers are recommending us. Our range is extensive - I hope that we were able to help you choose something to your tastes. Let us know! We continuously change our selections of Australian Gin, as there are so many these days, but we like to think we stock some of the most unique and delicious ones in the country.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Many thanks,

Zachary Phillips,
Australian Wine Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

9 - 13 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Despite these jokers receiving an order weeks in advance from my mother for my birthday, and being told it had to arrive by 14th June, the order was 2 days late. They blamed the long weekend - fellas the long weekends are in the diary and can be planned around.
When the order did arrive it was two bottles short ! It was a gift from my mother and had I not checked with her they would have got away with charging her for 6 bottles and delivering 4.
When I called there was no apology or offer of compensation - they didn't really seem to care at all.
There are plenty of places to buy wine in Sydney - this place is right opposite where the cruise ships come in so they over inflate their prices and stock poor quality wines. No-one who lives in Sydney shops here. Avoid it.

1  Thank Delia_for_pope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary P, Public Relations Manager at Australian Wine Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Dear Charles,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor – we appreciate all feedback and use it to make improvements to our business. We would like to once again apologise for the discrepancies that occurred in dispatching your order. We trust that you have now received the wines in full and will enjoy the selection. We would also like to take this opportunity to briefly address the concerns you raise here.

We have identified that your order was short delivered due to a picking error. We take the utmost care in putting together the many consignments and deliveries that we carry out both here and abroad every year, however, we can only identify human error as the cause of the short delivery in this instance. We did in fact apologise for the mistake over the phone, and then undertook measures to rectify the problem immediately. This included having the balance of the wines couriered to you that very same day, along with an extra bottle of wine at our expense and with our compliments. We hope that this provided appropriate recompense for your disappointment.


We would like to point out that when the order was placed the purchaser requested that the order be sent via Australia Post (our carrier for standard shipping Australia-wide) rather than a courier service. The order was deliberately held by us so that it would arrive on the day requested and we had been assured by Australia Post that we had left enough time for it to arrive on the requested day. Unfortunately, we have no power over the postal service and whatever delays they may suffer. We do offer a courier service which provides same day delivery for more urgent deliveries.

You are correct about our location. We are presently in Circular Quay on Alfred Street in the CBD - we do not, however, inflate our prices because of this. We are an independent store that has been operating for over 25 years and do not compete in range, and therefore price, with the larger chains. We focus on small batch, high quality wines which are not commonly represented in most retail stores or sold overseas. We have many loyal customers, both overseas and from Australia, who choose to shop with us on a regular basis due to our selection and expertise. Other reviews, both on Trip Advisor and our website, are evidentiary of this.

As to us selling low quality wines, we would invite you to come into our store and examine our selection, or to have a cursory look at our website and let us know your thoughts. We take great care in our selection and would welcome any feedback pertaining to our range.

Again, we sincerely apologise for the errors made with your order and will do our best to ensure this does not occur again.

Many thanks,
Zachary Phillips
AWC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Far too often it is too hard to get a good wine selection when staying in the tourist part of a city. The AWC is the exception to this, whilst a little pricy it offers an extensive range of Australian wine many from smaller wineries that sadly don't feature often enough on big chain bottle shop shelves. Good value international wines also available. Knowledgable staff.

Thank Travelingtribeof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We travel to Australia annually visiting friends and wineries. We gave up lugging wine back to the US years ago to save ware and tear on my body and avoid luggage disasters. Our solution was the Australian Wine Center (AWC). We merge our wine findings with the AWC team knowledge and experience and select our annual purchase of fantastic wine for shipment back to US. The AWC staff especially Mike Upfold and Rob McGregor have never let us down by recommending wines that not only meet our taste but are unheard of in the US. The AWC has never failed in getting us wines and vintages that we would never be able to normally purchase even at the winery.

In all the years of doing business with the AWC, we have had only one bottle of wine be "Off" after delivery and after AWC and we directly emailed the winery they (being the winery) admitted to having a storage problem and replaced my wine bottle for future shipment by the AWC and all of the wine they shipped to AWC!

Shipping has been simple and easy with coordination and communications from purchase to delivery. If we could add a "Sixth Bullet" to this review, we would not hesitate. Yes - the experience and satisfaction has been that good!

Thank FrankXDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary P, Public Relations Manager at Australian Wine Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Frank,

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are always thrilled to hear back from our customers, and to know that they have had such a positive experience with us. As always, please feel free to get in touch any time - we look forward to seeing you soon and helping you select some new wines to try!

Many thanks,
AWC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2016

As a local Sydney sider, I don't have a lot of time for local attractions, but this is one I really love. The staff are incredibly knowledgeable and have a great grasp of Australian wines. They stock such a wide variety, and include some truly wonderful boutique growers that you don't see elsewhere. There is a huge range of wines and spirits from across the country; they have the best of the Barossa, Hunter, Margaret River, Yarra and all the other great regions of Australia. Whether you are a local or a tourist, they will always give you the time of day and a great recommendation for a night at home, a night out, a date or a party. I cannot recommend the Australian Wine Centre highly enough!

Thank SphinxKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Australian Wine Centre also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Australian Wine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing