We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Gallery of New South Wales
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Art Gallery of New South Wales
Sydney Bike Tours
627 Reviews
from US$72,30
More Info
from US$72,30
More Info
from US$159,20
More Info
Reviews (2 797)
Filter reviews
2 797 results
Traveller rating
1 808
822
144
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 808
822
144
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews archibald prize francis bacon dutch masters special exhibition great collection on display botanical gardens free entry worth a visit rainy day beautiful building few hours couple of hours hyde park opera house circular quay exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2 797 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We visited the NSW Gallery recently to see the Modern Masters of the Hermitage. The Gallery is amazing architecturally, and the building is worth seeing for its own sake. The exhibition we saw was curated very well. The Gallery cafe was really pleasant, and has a lovely outdoor section with views to the city.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JudiMama124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We always visit when in Sydney. They have an excellent collection of Australian art and we always enjoy the changing exhibitions. The annual Archibald and art express is always a favourite. Enjoy the art gallery and hten talk down the stairs behind it and explore Woolloomooloo, go across the road to check out the botanic gardens or walk down the road to Mrs Macquaries chair for a great photo opportunity of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. A good place to go to tick of a few must do things in Sydney.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Kylie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

The museum has multiple exhibits, many of them with free admission. I went for the aboriginal art which I enjoyed immensely. There is a bit of everything, even for the kids. The cafes looked busy as was the gift shop. You can spend an hour or a day depending on your mood.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank ptyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

If you visit Opera house, walk through Botanic Garden, the Art Gallery is behind the Garden, a very lovely walk along the coast, takes about 20-30 mins.

There are a good selection of art works both classic and contemporary. There are two pieces of Picasso work and my favorite is the Sea hath in its pears 1897 by William Henry Margetson.

If you have enough time and love art, it's definite a good place to visit.


Date of experience: November 2018
Thank EvaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Each time I have visited Sydney - I seem to always find time to get here - it's just one of my things.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews