We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 274)
Filter reviews
1 274 results
Traveller rating
250
450
363
128
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
450
363
128
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parliament house priority guest buffet breakfast free wifi manuka shops indoor pool full buffet national gallery hotel restaurant sofa bed undercover parking rooms are large short drive capital questacon sauna exhibition
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 1 274 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2016

My wife and I recently visited Canbera and stayed at Rydges Capital Hill. Prior to our arrival we were texted and asked to identify particular requirements that we would like regarding our room e.g. Floor number, proximity to elevators, room size etc. We appreciated this and were even more appreciative when our requests were fullfiled. We received a great rate for the quality of room provided. Our rate included early check-in, wifi, secure car parking, a very satisfying breakfast and late check-out. Our room was excellent. It was spacious, well appointed and the bed was extremely comfortable. Other reviewers have mentioned that reception staff would benefit from further training. Whilst this may apply to some staff the service provided while we were checking out was friendly and efficient. We thought that the hotel was well positioned and Its facilities more than met our needs. We look forward to staying at this hotel when we next visit Canberra.

Room Tip: Specify particular preferences and hotel staff genuinely try and satisfy these .
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired_2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Dear Retired_2225,

Thank you so much for the great feedback from your recent stay with us. Although we don't always get everything right, it is always nice when guests acknowledge a great stay and submit reviews with positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you visit Canberra.

Kind regards

Kirsty Tomas
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

For a weekend away in Canberra this was a ice ver night stay but slightly overpriced. The first suite we were allocated was a nice room but the spa did not work. The second suited we were allocated was bigger but oNe of the televisions did not work. For the cat of the overnight stay a continental breakfast would have been great but was NOT included. The rooms were clean and the staff were lovely.
Overall a good night sleepier putt. Her beds and pillows were great.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanepopovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear susanepopovski,

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you encountered maintenance issues during your stay but I trust that our team rectified these issues.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the bed and pillows.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Kirsty Tomas
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

It's an old hotel and though clean and tidy, it lacks in many places. Definitely ready for an uplift. Breakfast was minimal, not much option for food at night in the area and the hotel restaurant served decent meals but the area it's situated lacks atmosphere .

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank 639apriln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear April,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

I was surprised by your comments regarding not many options for food at night as the hotel is a short 5 minute walk to the village of Manuka where there is a large variety of restaurants available.

When you next visit, please ask our reception staff for directions to attractions in the local area as there is a lot on offer close by to the hotel.

Kind regards

Kirsty Tomas
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Large well-appointed rooms. Very pleasant stay. Hotel is behind Parliament House which means that most attractions are a little further to walk. Desk staff were friendly but when I asked for directions on a map, the young lady on the desk had some difficulty even finding the hotel and had to call over a colleague to find the destination to which I needed to walk. Perhaps a little more training might be needed.

Room Tip: Some rooms face in to the atrium and therefore have no external windows. If you love light and views ask for an outward facing room.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Onward64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Dear Onward64,

I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the rooms in the hotel.

We will certainly ensure that our front desk team are familiar with the map that is given to guests.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Kirsty Tomas
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed here, i booked the Queen room, what i got was a room with two double beds which was disappointing to get a different room to what you've booked and payed for. The room had Air Con/Heating and easy access on of button for the Air Con near the beds, has free WiFi but TV channels where basic and my remote was faulty, i could only change the volume not the channels .

The Mini Bar was tiny and couldn't fit much of your own food because of the way the Hotel stocked it.There was no dishware available apart from coffee mugs and glasses. The room however had black out curtains, was clean and modern. The bathroom was stylish and modern also. The downside was the shower had a glass wall but no door so water from the shower sprayed onto the toilet and floor. Staff were friendly and attentive and the Hotel itself was beautiful.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Mickayla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Dear Mickayla,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. I am sorry that you did not receive the room that you had booked, this will be addressed with the reservations team.

I hope that you advised the reception team that your remote was not working correctly, sometimes it is the batteries, but the staff can replace any remote to ensure that you have a working remote.

The hotel mini bar fridge is designed to accommodate the hotel's product, it is not a fridge large enough for guests to add their own personal items. On request, we can remove the hotel items from the mini bar so that guests such as yourself that do wish to bring in their own food items can.

As the rooms do not have kitchens, we do not supply crockery and cutlery in our rooms but, if you request this with the staff, these items can always be delivered to your room.

I am pleased that you liked the look of the new bathrooms and appreciate your comments regarding the glass shower divider, we will certainly look at this design aspect for the remaining rooms.

Thank you again for your detailed feedback and I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and attentive and the hotel beautiful.

We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time that you are in Canberra.

Kind regards

Kirsty Tomas
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews