We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
292
457
154
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
457
154
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews undercover parking free wifi bit dated kingston foreshore comfortable beds the ground floor rooms are large short drive good size would stay here again stayed for nights quiet location buffet breakfast plenty of parking lounge area mini bar business trip
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2016

From the moment we were literally "greeted with a smile" the experience never disappointed. The rooms were comfortable. The free magazines and newspapers were a nice touch and it was nice to relax with with a magazine without having to go down to a newsagent. The hotel has a pool and sauna. It made a nice change from the bigger hotels and from now on I think I'd be more likely to seek out the boutique style hotel. They also provided very generous free wifi and free parking.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anne_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi there,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. I am truly pleased that we have helped you to enjoy your time in Canberra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Excellent VFM: Rooms are comfortable and well equipped.

Hotel breakfast is really good value. Dinner menu is good and the dinner specials have been excellent. The $10 discount if room is not serviced is a great idea (unless you can't make tour own bed). Staff are helpful and polite - undercover parking is free and easy to access.

Room tip: Rooms on the West side are quieter
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank K1847WPpeterc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi there,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We spent two nights here in the board room with our two young daughters. Was affordable and comfortable. We had the boardroom which allowed my husband and I to have our own room and the girls were in the loungeroom. Tvs in both rooms meant that we could enjoy a movie at night when the girls went to bed. No dvd available in the room was a bit of a shock and would recommend this is something that is made available - for hire even. We ended up driving to the local jb hifi to purchase one.
The beds were comfortable. The bathroom had all of the required needs. We would probably choose a spa suite next time so that we have access to a bath for the girls.
The little kitchenette area requires more attention. Just two glasses and cups for a boardroom seemed a little silly to me.
The pool was small but perfect for our family. We had use of it almost exclusively while there with very few other guests using it.
Free wifi and parking was a bonus and much appreciated. The book shelves full of books and some puzzles for the kids is also a great addition to the hotel since we stayed last time.
Staff were always willing to accommodate our needs such as additional towels and the use of plates and bowls for our dinner we brought back to the hotel.
Breakfast was delicious and there was a great variety of foods available. We were well fed before each day of activity.
We found the hotel to be really affordable and in a great location. Wasn't far to travel to any of the attractions we wanted to go to each day.
This is a hotel I would happily stay at again. It is suited more to executive and adults, however they do accommodate for families as well.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank spcurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi there,

Thank you for providing quite an in depth review of the hotel. I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and will definitely take your feedback on board regarding more DVD players and glassware in the suites.

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

We took exception to a lot of quality Canberra hotels charging for parking and wifi, this was free at the Diplomat. So a big plus for us with the family in tow. Wifi worked really well in the room that we had over the main entrance/reception side of the hotel, while hardly worked at all in the room we had at the main road side. Very comfortable, clean, large rooms. Beds were really luxurious and comfortable. Pool also a plus. We had a rate with full breakfast included, which was totally adequate. Staff all friendly and helpful. Only moan would be that the bar hardly seemed to be open at all. Shame, as bar/restaurant area had some big comfy sofas and would have been great for after dinner drinks.

Room tip: Rooms on reception/main entrance side quiet, sunny and better wifi.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquiagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

HI there,

Thanks for the great feedback. I'll take a laptop around the hotel and cehck the operational status of each WiFi access point and revisit our opening hours in teh restaurant.

Thanks for choosing the Diplomat, We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Very easy to find and only 10 minutes from the airport, without going anywhere near those confusing Canberra ring roads.
Unlike some other nearby hotels the Diplomat has plenty of free guest parking.
The room I had had that 'clean' and 'fresh' feel and was a very comfortable sleep.
Kingston and Marnuka shops are just a short drive down the road and the Outlet Stores are just minutes away in the other direction.
I found the Diplomat Hotel good value for money.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Centaur4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi there,

Thanks for the great feedback! We're all very glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again some time,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews