We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
51
26
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
26
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sycamore cottage kruger national park beautiful view coming back the kitchen white river the main road house dam beds gate adults bedroom friends deck inside children
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Extremely comfortable, clean and private. Stay was too short. Will definitely go again.
The splash pool on the patio and dishwasher were an added bonus! The view of the dam is awesome.
Only down side are some of the roads in MPA that we had to travel on to get there. Lots of potholes.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank H1315IDcherylm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizel M, Owner at Da Gama Lake cottages(Fire Thorn And Sycamore Cottages), responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Good day Cheryl
Thank y0u. Glad you had a good stay. Hope to hear from you in the future.
Regards
Lizel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

The place is fabulous but it was not clean. Spider webs on the windows and doors and on a 2 days stay we did not see any cleaning staff. Despite that the location is fantastic and thehpuse is very very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank luis837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizel M, Manager at Da Gama Lake cottages(Fire Thorn And Sycamore Cottages), responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Good day Carlos
We are all privately owned houses. I have told the owner about your complain re spider webs and they will address the issue with the cleaners.
The cleaning staff do not come in on weekends unless specially requested by the guests.
Glad you had a good time.
Regards
Lizel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Thank you very much Lizel and the team. We enjoyed our stay at Fir Thorn and Sycamore. We will definitely come again. Everything was just perfect as described in the ad. Its very child friendly and neat.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rosemarym86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FirethornSycamore, Owner at Da Gama Lake cottages(Fire Thorn And Sycamore Cottages), responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

It is only a pleasure Rosemary. So happy you had a good time.
Regards
Lizel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

oh my gosh where do I begin, I'm so in in love with this place, so far I've been there for the third time and it still feels amazing. I have decided to make it my every year holiday home so next year I'm coming back. the house is fully equipped and I love the fact that the DSTV has all channels unlike other places, keep it up, Liezel.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 360refilwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizel M, Owner at Da Gama Lake cottages(Fire Thorn And Sycamore Cottages), responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thank you Refilwe. Great place to have your annual holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We had a pleasant stay at these beautiful cottages. The rooms where nice and neat. Good communication from Lizel (Manager). The cottages are in a secure area. Security guards at the gate where very thorough and friendly. I would highly recommend this place and I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank leratom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizel M, Owner at Da Gama Lake cottages(Fire Thorn And Sycamore Cottages), responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Thank you Lerato. Glad I could be of help. Looking forward to accommodate you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews