We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
30
29
5
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
30
29
5
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild coast gravel road self catering fantastic beach wholesome food absolutely nothing tropical paradise meals walks fishing hospitality beauty distance bars locals world sign
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2020

We booked as a family to go to Mazeppa Bay. This was mainly organised or advised for us by Owen Richter of Wild Coast Angling Tours. Our hotel was the Mezeppa Bay Hotel.
The hotel was comfortable, staff friendly & location was ideal. Meals were tasty & normal foods
We went there mainly for the fishing which was a extremely fantastic experience. The weather was not ideal as east wind blowing but we did catch some very enjoyable eating fish.
Shark fishing here is unbelievable although we did not try for them but witnessed big ones being caught & released.

Owen Richter is a guide that I would certainly recommend & the Mezeppa Hotel was comfortable & fairly priced.

Suggest that fisherman should always have a look at FB on W
wildcoastangingtours.
co.za or (Owen Richter).

Thanks to all parties for their hospitality

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank RobMaryBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2020

Thank you for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020

Fantastic beach, wonderful walks and chilled atmosphere, good wholesome food, well priced bar and staff very good, great place to recharge the batteries and unwind, 90 minutes on dirt road or fly in on the landing strip

Room tip: best rooms are in front of the tennis court or on the other side of the patio unless you want self catering, which are further up
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank bokkenaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2020

Thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

Though the road to Mazeppa is a gravel road.The place is in rural areas.It is very quiet.The fault is just that the rooms do not have televisions except in the lounge and at bars.There is also rooms for self catering.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank OnAir771356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2019

We stayed over for 2 days and although it rained virtually non-stop, it was a welcome relief to just chill and catch up with some reading! We did manage to get a walk along the beach and trekked over the bridge. I can just imagine that this venue would be heavenly when the sun shines. The beach is pristine and one can walk a good distance along the sandy shoreline. It is a hikers paradise. The hotel itself is old and quaint and for a fisherman's lodge is quite adequate.
Should you make a trip to this part of the world you will find the gravel roads in a reasonable condition although the lack of sign posting will make you nervous. We had to keep on asking the locals to ensure that we were on the right road!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

Mazeppa Bay Hotel is such a tranquil place situated in a beautiful garden overlooking a gorgeous beach with a super helpfull and friendly Manageres. There is absolutely nothing not to love about at this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank StellaJ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Thank you for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews