We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
30
29
5
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
30
29
5
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild coast gravel road self catering fantastic beach wholesome food absolutely nothing tropical paradise meals walks fishing hospitality beauty distance bars locals world sign
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2020

Fantastic beach, wonderful walks and chilled atmosphere, good wholesome food, well priced bar and staff very good, great place to recharge the batteries and unwind, 90 minutes on dirt road or fly in on the landing strip

Room tip: best rooms are in front of the tennis court or on the other side of the patio unless you want self catering, which are further up
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank bokkenaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2020

Thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

Though the road to Mazeppa is a gravel road.The place is in rural areas.It is very quiet.The fault is just that the rooms do not have televisions except in the lounge and at bars.There is also rooms for self catering.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank OnAir771356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2019

We stayed over for 2 days and although it rained virtually non-stop, it was a welcome relief to just chill and catch up with some reading! We did manage to get a walk along the beach and trekked over the bridge. I can just imagine that this venue would be heavenly when the sun shines. The beach is pristine and one can walk a good distance along the sandy shoreline. It is a hikers paradise. The hotel itself is old and quaint and for a fisherman's lodge is quite adequate.
Should you make a trip to this part of the world you will find the gravel roads in a reasonable condition although the lack of sign posting will make you nervous. We had to keep on asking the locals to ensure that we were on the right road!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

Mazeppa Bay Hotel is such a tranquil place situated in a beautiful garden overlooking a gorgeous beach with a super helpfull and friendly Manageres. There is absolutely nothing not to love about at this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank StellaJ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Thank you for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2019

We stayed at this Hotel to unwind and get away from the rat race. This is exactly what we received.
The food and staff is amazing and fantastic value for money. We can recommend this to anybody need a place to go and relax. Fantastic beach and view. Well done! we wish you were closer.
Kind regards
Andre and Bessie Pienaar

Room tip: Room 11 Great view to the ocean .
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Albatros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2019

Thank you for your lovely review.
Hopefully see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews