We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
30
29
5
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
30
29
5
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild coast self catering gravel road fantastic beach wholesome food absolutely nothing tropical paradise meals walks fishing hospitality beauty distance bars locals world sign
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Its a long and uncomfortable from along the gravel road to get to Mazeppa Bay. Once there the coastline is stunning. The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly. Check-in was quick and efficient. Were were directed to a double story apartment. The inside was well decorated however it was a little tatty. It had seen better days. The bedding was clean and the beds comfortable.
The hotel overall is "old" but functional. The dinner and breakfast supplied the the dining room was good comfort food however the service is a little slow but hay with the view who cares!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExplorerZA2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Great place for the whole family to unwind & relax, plenty of kids of all ages to keep themselves busy, get involved in the activities or lay back and read a book or a drink on the terrace over looking the sea, food is great and management are always there and involved

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank bokkenaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Thank you for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

A tropical paradise to spend a few days. We savour every moment when we go there (every few months). It has everything we look for in terms of a great place to relax. They also pay attention to detail in terms of dietary requirements, and will make dishes to cater as far as possible if you let them know on your booking forms. We were also particularly impressed on this most recent visit, when we forgot some clothes in the bedroom cupboard when we checked out - and only realised the next day. The hotel deliveried our clothes to East London, SA, where we live- washed and ironed, at no additional charge! That's great service. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We’ve just completed a 3-day Wild Coast walk. Each night we stayed at a different hotel along the coast, amounting to a total of four hotels. Having experienced Mazeppas competition we found their establishment to be lacking. The food was mediocre, the staff unengaging, the decore very dated and the grounds/buildings uncared for. The potential is there but there seems to be no heart. Plus that suspension bridge is a death trap and in dire need of repair/reconstruction. I hate to leave a bad review but your money is better spent at either Kob Inn, Trennerys or Wavecrest.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GJRQV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We spent 3 nights here and it really was fantastic. So relaxing. The food was great, a 5 course meal at every sitting and bar snacks before supper. The staff are very friendly and it was a nice touch that Gerald was at the bar in the evenings and came and chatted to his guests. We did the walk to Kob Inn, I recommend this, the scenery is great. Do get advice on which route to take when going there because the road, for about half the distance, is really bad.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dee312556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews