We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
28
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails surrounded by nature chalet rob edge nursery forest dam weekend hand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2019

First stop on our holiday after a long flight. As I am interested in South African bulbs I wanted to see Rob’s nursery so it was a real bonus to find we could stay in one of his Eco Lodges. His directions for finding the lodge were excellent. We found it so cosy with every home comfort yet within a stones throw of the beautiful forest.
We were very fortunate to have a walk in the mountains with Rob & his partner looking for plants growing in their habitat. This was thoroughly enjoyable.
Thank you Rob for making the start of our holiday so memorable.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flower1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

Stayed two nights in Jan, travelling with dog between Cape town and KZN. The Shire is perfect if you are looking for beautiful comfy accom in a peaceful setting. We love the direct access to the variety of marked trails varying from 5 to 19 km in the Kologha Forest, the view from the deck, room and bed make you feel like you are in the indigenous forest and finally the outside shower that is actuallyin the forest! Signal is patchy but OK. Bed very comfortable. Everything you need in the kitchen for self-catering and of course braaiing. Very peaceful and we will be back again

Room tip: Two end units have more privacy than two middle units
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the cabins with our 2-year old daughter and absolutely loved our stay. The beds are unbelievably comfortable and the cabin is spacious and elegant. It is the perfect spot to relax and unwind - make sure you take gumboots if you want to explore the trails around the lodge as it was pretty wet and muddy when we were there. I would also recommend packing a deck of cards, lots of dry wood for the outdoor braai (you can also buy there if you run out) and a good book to really make the most of it. If you are a keen birder, you will love it here as you can bird from your deck - we saw Cape parrots flying past and heard many more unusual species in the forest as well as daily visits by the super chilled Samango monkeys.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FortGovernorsEstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

We didn't plan every stop of our honeymoon and stumbled upon the Shire while searching the internet, what a happy find!
Rob and his family built the most amazing cottages, all by hand; the bent wooden frames, the custom tiled bathrooms, custom lamp shades, bespoke coffee tables, custom bent windows and the sliding doors he built with his 90+-year-old grandfather... everything ties together for an unforgettable experience. The forest is epic and the hike up to the dam was so relaxing...

an Absolute must

Room tip: I'd choose a cottage closer to the edge of the forest
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gandré v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

The Shire is simply magical. Tucked away in a clearing, surrounded by forest, at the foot of the mountain range, the little, wooden cottages are beautiful! I love the fact that everything was handcrafted by the owners, it just gives them this extra magical feeling. You can feel passion and love that went into creating these marvelous cottages, which are very spacious as well.
There are hiking trails available for those who love nature and walks, and it is situated close to Forest Way where there is a picnic area and more hiking trails up to the waterfalls.
The Shire, even though it is quite out of town, it is still not too far should you need to get anything from the shops there (taking approximately 15 min to get to any one shop).
The nights are particularly magical, in the sense that the night sky is breathtakingly beautiful. I have never seen so many stars in the sky before. We spent the evenings gazing up at the sky, looking out for shooting stars.
With the rolling mountains, forests, and quaint little houses, it is aptly named the Shire.
I will definitely be making a return visit to this magical place. I loved every moment of it.

Room tip: I personally love the ones that are in the two far corners of the clearing, tucked into the forests. They feel more private and remote.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda_The_Pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews