We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
28
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails surrounded by nature chalet rob edge nursery forest dam weekend hand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2017

The Shire is simply magical. Tucked away in a clearing, surrounded by forest, at the foot of the mountain range, the little, wooden cottages are beautiful! I love the fact that everything was handcrafted by the owners, it just gives them this extra magical feeling. You can feel passion and love that went into creating these marvelous cottages, which are very spacious as well.
There are hiking trails available for those who love nature and walks, and it is situated close to Forest Way where there is a picnic area and more hiking trails up to the waterfalls.
The Shire, even though it is quite out of town, it is still not too far should you need to get anything from the shops there (taking approximately 15 min to get to any one shop).
The nights are particularly magical, in the sense that the night sky is breathtakingly beautiful. I have never seen so many stars in the sky before. We spent the evenings gazing up at the sky, looking out for shooting stars.
With the rolling mountains, forests, and quaint little houses, it is aptly named the Shire.
I will definitely be making a return visit to this magical place. I loved every moment of it.

Room tip: I personally love the ones that are in the two far corners of the clearing, tucked into the forests. They feel more private and remote.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda_The_Pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

The sound of the forest at night , the bubbling brook , the magnificent Milky Way up above - if I did not have to wake up for work and could have spent more than one night , would have slept for hours more and spend time exploring the beauty of the forests and wild flowers and more !!

Room tip: All the chalets are unique in their own respect - locally hand crafted to match a 5 star hotel !
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickmatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The Shire remains our go-to place for quiet weekends to restore body and soul. Chalets are well appointed and fully equipped. In winter, electric blankets are supplied as well as an oil heater. It would be great if, during the summer months, fans were provided in the chalets to counter the effects of the afternoon sun. Granted, New Year was exceptionally hot this year. The outside showers (Sullivan and Canisp chalets) are the best experience ever. Hikes in the pristine indigenous forest and enjoying a rest sitting on a bed of leaves at the base of towering eucalyptus trees is a spiritual experience. For outdoor enthusiasts, there is nowhere better to visit.

Room tip: The two chalets on the edges of the clearing are the nicest as they have outside showers.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexkS5088HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The Shire is a hidden treasure built next to a vibrant forest of amazing birds. There is a little stream meandering through the forest and many calming walks amongst plants, butterflies and birds.

The chalets are uniquely built on stilts with wood. The builders used a special method to bend long strips of wood to create the feeling of sleeping in a big wooden boat! There are bunk beds in each chalet but I wouldn't sleep in them as there is no barrier between your mattress and a 2 meter drop! My 4 year old son had an absolute blast looking for fresh water crabs under rocks in the stream while I looked for birds. We saw a Spotted Eagle Owl as we came home on two of the evenings and I got very close to a Narina Trogan which is a rarely seen, colourful bird in the forest. The weather was wonderful and the expanse of grass outside the chalets was space for my son to run, play sport and look for bugs. With or without children, this venue is peaceful and provides value for money if you're a nature lover.

Room tip: Choose one of the chalets next to the forest to be near the trees and the birds - there are 2 to choose from.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank U6469LAdebbiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

The cottages are fully equipped with all necessities and there are only five of these round a big green field which makes it quiet and peaceful. The different walks, the variety of birds, and the indigenous forests make this a lovely stop-over or a destination in its own terms.

Date of stay: October 2015
Thank AnitaCraig2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews