We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
28
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails surrounded by nature chalet rob edge nursery forest dam weekend hand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The Shire remains our go-to place for quiet weekends to restore body and soul. Chalets are well appointed and fully equipped. In winter, electric blankets are supplied as well as an oil heater. It would be great if, during the summer months, fans were provided in the chalets to counter the effects of the afternoon sun. Granted, New Year was exceptionally hot this year. The outside showers (Sullivan and Canisp chalets) are the best experience ever. Hikes in the pristine indigenous forest and enjoying a rest sitting on a bed of leaves at the base of towering eucalyptus trees is a spiritual experience. For outdoor enthusiasts, there is nowhere better to visit.

Room tip: The two chalets on the edges of the clearing are the nicest as they have outside showers.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexkS5088HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The Shire is a hidden treasure built next to a vibrant forest of amazing birds. There is a little stream meandering through the forest and many calming walks amongst plants, butterflies and birds.

The chalets are uniquely built on stilts with wood. The builders used a special method to bend long strips of wood to create the feeling of sleeping in a big wooden boat! There are bunk beds in each chalet but I wouldn't sleep in them as there is no barrier between your mattress and a 2 meter drop! My 4 year old son had an absolute blast looking for fresh water crabs under rocks in the stream while I looked for birds. We saw a Spotted Eagle Owl as we came home on two of the evenings and I got very close to a Narina Trogan which is a rarely seen, colourful bird in the forest. The weather was wonderful and the expanse of grass outside the chalets was space for my son to run, play sport and look for bugs. With or without children, this venue is peaceful and provides value for money if you're a nature lover.

Room tip: Choose one of the chalets next to the forest to be near the trees and the birds - there are 2 to choose from.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank U6469LAdebbiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

The cottages are fully equipped with all necessities and there are only five of these round a big green field which makes it quiet and peaceful. The different walks, the variety of birds, and the indigenous forests make this a lovely stop-over or a destination in its own terms.

Date of stay: October 2015
Thank AnitaCraig2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

it is a open-plan chalet with a stylish en suite bathroom, with fully equipped kitchenette .
have a braai

you my abseil, rock climbing, canoeing, archery, fishing, hiking and arts and crafts meander..

Room tip: try to be on the side near forest
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cobusTheunissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This is a truly different sort of place. The cabins are very bit as magical as they look on the website. There is a nice big lawn in front of the cabins which border a very pretty forest.

The cabins are nicely insulated and well equipped. Each has a nice fire place with table next to it.

We used it as a stop over on the way to the Wild Coast. Our kids loved it and it was a great place to chill out. There also some very nice walks. There appears to be a lot to do in Stutt (which we didn't look into).

Room tip: 4 adults in one cabin will be a bit of a squeeze
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LikeFully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews