We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Seclusion”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Deerdale Lodge

Luxury bedrooms with TV/DVD and views into the forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury bedrooms with TV/DVD and views into the forest
Cosy-up in front of the log burning stove Private outdoor hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Luxury bedrooms with TV/DVD and views into the forest
Cosy-up in front of the log burning stove
Private outdoor hot tub
Welcome to a luxury traditional log cabin nestled in over 3000 acres of woodland
Outdoor dining on the decking terrace
Kitchen and dining with double oven, dishwasher, fridge freezer, microwave, coffee maker, toaster
Lounge with logburner and TV/DVD
Bedroom 2 can be twin or double, with TV/DVD and views into the forest
Bathroom
Private outdoor space
Power shower and bath
The adjacent and surrounding forest
Winter 2012/13
Snow in the forest
Forest path snow scene
Private hot-tub and terrace
Dining terrace
Indoor dining
Great in all seasons
Hammock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesleyann...
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic Seclusion”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

After reading the previous reviews we decided to choose Deerdale Lodge for a weeks holiday which would include our 30th Wedding Anniversary - how glad we were that we made that decision. From ease of booking right through to leaving we have found the whole experience a joy. Unfortunately we never got to meet Stu but we were lucky enough to meet Lynn, a delightful lady who put us completely at ease, gave us our privacy but was just next door if needed. If you are seeking total privacy and relaxation you will be hard pressed to find anywhere better. The setting is lovely with many walks from the door, however we also saw a lot of wildlife from the lounge and bedroom windows. Sitting by the hot tub listening to the wind in the trees and the birds singing (with NO other sound) was magical. The absence of wi fi was an added bonus, no phones, no e-mails, no interruptions!! Lynn and Stu left a welcome basket filled with milk, orange juice, homemade shortbread (yummy) and lots of other delicious goodies. Thank you again for our champagne and chocs - you really made our anniversary special. I do not think anyone could possibly be disappointed at Deerdale - it is private, has been designed to the highest standard, is spotlessly clean, contains everything you could want for a wonderful holiday and - if you want them - comes complete with the offer of bikes to borrow - we didnt as we like to walk and take lots of photos - enjoy Deerdale. We will be jealous of you staying there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Thankyou for taking the time to write such an amazing and detailed review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your anniversary stay and hope to see you again soon. Warm regards Lynda and Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseysid...
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our first visit to Deerdale Lodge and we fully had the intention of doing as little as possible. We just wanted to relax and this is a fantastic place for that. Upon arrival we were greeted by Lynda and given the guided tour. There was a nice welcome basket containing delicious shortbread, hot chocolate, tea bags, chocolates, coffee and popcorn. In the fridge there was a bottle of milk and a bottle of juice. Great touches. Lynda was very helpful in advising us on places to eat and gave us local menus.

The lodge adjoins the owners own property but it is extremely private. A solid gate with a letter box is the only contact you have, if you have any issues or need more logs, just write a note, pop it in an envelope and post it through (put £3 in too for some more logs). The landscaping and layout helps to give a great feeling of privacy which works well for both guests and owners.

The lodge itself looks great and is immaculately maintained. The kitchen presents a cooker with induction hot plates (takes a little getting used to), fridge freezer (I'd seen another review comment on this being too small but it was fine for us and we brought a fair bit of food and drink which fitted inside fine), a dishwasher (which we didn't use, there were only two of us), kettle and a microwave. There is plenty of storage and cutlery, plates, mugs and glasses etc.

The living room's best feature is definitely the log burner. There is something very satisfying about building your own fire, keeping it topped up and enjoying the warmth. It was very easy to relax here. There is a TV, DVD player and a CD player also.

The thing we were looking forwards too most was the hot tub and it certainly did not disappoint. It's a powerful thing with more than enough jets and we spent a lot of time in it. At a steady 34 degrees it's an amazing feeling sitting in it at night. Also outside is a rocking chair, a dining area, gas BBQ and a hammock.

The owner did offer us the use of bicycles but it has been many years since either of us had ridden one so we decided to take walks instead. This was more about relaxation though so we kept them fairly short.

We both loved our time here and would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, log burner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thankyou for the great review and for taking time to include so much detail. We're very pleased you enjoyed stay and hope to see you again soon. Warm regards Lynda and Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToniaG986
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden Gem in the forest”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This truly is the nicest place my Husband and I have ever stayed in we had such a wonderful relaxing break. The lodge is so comfy and warm we loved the log burner, the shower is amazing, beds very comfy we found everything to be spot on and really great quality, the place is so pretty especially with all the fairy lights around the lodge at night and the hot tub is also a great treat we used it every day. If you are looking for a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings this is the place and we thought it was great value for money. The owners kept in touch regularly and Lynda was very nice when we arrived. We will certainly be back and have told all are family and friends about this place. Thank you for this lovely gem.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thankyou for the great review and lovely comments in the guest book, we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Thanks also for looking after the lodge, it was spotless on your departure, you have been perfect guests, Warm regards Lynda and Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had the best time at Deerdale, From the minute we arrived we felt relaxed and this only got better over the few days we stayed. So useful to have the use of bikes and we loved riding around the forest, even in the rain its so pretty. The lodge itself was missing nothing and we were very pleasantly surprised that they had robes, slippers, good film selection and even a welcome hamper. We would love to go back and have recommended it to friends and family. Hot tub was amazing also!! Thank you Lynda and Stu

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thankyou for the great review, we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Thanks also for looking after the lodge, you have been perfect guests, Warm regards Lynda and Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
858joanne...
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“"Hidden Gem"”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

After our first stay at Deerdale Lodge we would highly recommend this wonderful gem. Nothing was overlooked and the lodge was spotless upon arrival, cleanliness second to none! A lovely touch was our Welcome Hamper and delicious homemade shortbread and chocolates left on our pillows. Luxury in self catering with wonderful hot tub and a break from civilisation. Lovely walks from the door in Sherwood Forest. We would love to stay again and thank both Stu & Lynda for their wonderful hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2016
Thankyou for your lovely comments and for being great guests. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you are making a second booking, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Warmest regards Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing