We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Escape” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freddies Santai Sumurtiga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Freddies Santai Sumurtiga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sabang
Certificate of Excellence
Medan, Indonesia
1 review
“Nice Escape”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived at Freddies with my parents and stayed there just for one night.
our room is facing the sea which was great and the room was clean. The only think they could do better is that not allowing people to smoke anywhere they like especially in the restaurant because some people cannot stand the smoke and it spoils the nice breeze. So far we had a good time

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gerardai475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    128
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
94
185
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As my first solo trip in SEA, Freddies has left me wanting more, to explore places just like this. Freddy and his staff takes every effort to ensure every guest has an enjoyable stay throughout. I initially booked just three nights and extended for another two just because this place is pure paradise. I do not dive nor snorkel. For 5 days, it was spent with a book in my room directly facing the sea, on the hammock in my balcony, at the restaurant or on the beach. I took a day tour to visit other places on the island like Gapang and Iboih and nothing beats the place at Freddies with the private beach. Some days, I have the beach all to myself. What i appreciated most staying at Freddies was participating in the buffet dinner. Before the commencement of dinner, Freddy would ask each and every guest present what they did for the day before reading out the menu. The menu and music changes every night. He also takes very good care of guests with special diet, always trying to come up with a menu which would cater to everyone's delight and he has not failed.

Anyway, it is a hassle to get to Pulau Weh with flights and ferry etc. I hope this place is never found (for selfish reasons)!

Definitely going back again!

Much love to Freddy and staff for making my stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, go for it. As was described in previous evaluation, this is a perfect place. Freddie is really a special person, who cares so much.
We went every evening for his diner, which was always great and you see how much he cares if you like it. Freddie organized for us one day snorkeling trip (the guy was really good, we have enjoyed it so much) .
If Freddie is not present, it is obviously not running as smoothly as when he is there, but we were fine with it (the room was not cleaned only once in the whole week, guess what day it was... :o)
Freddies colleague booked for us a car for half day and it wasn´t as great as the driver didn´t speak ANY english, so when we asked him to take us to the fish market, he just didnt understand and was driving us just around until we realized, he is just trying to "kill the time" and to drive us around as this was what he was paid for....

But if you consider to stay here, go for it. It really is a nice part of the island, clean beach (or lets say the cleanes we have seen in Weh island) and sea and you will get a great service for very reasonable price !

Stayed February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Radka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Freddies for a week and loved and enjoyed it so much.
We travel much and saw great places but we never ever write a review.
This time we just have to cause we where overwhelmed by the love he puts in his work.
Freddie is the perfect host, takes care of everyones needs and makes you feel more than welcome.
The beautiful place, the incredible food, and the love for the details makes it a real paradies !

Thank you Freddie for everything and a big compliment to your great staff!

Michi & Tino

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tin0berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One thing that I remember the most about staying at Freddies is the super windy breeze and the food!

Room: We slept with the window open (we stayed in the sea facing room. Room no.4) for the 2 nights stay. The sound of the strong wind and ocean wave actually did sound scary that I found it quite hard to fall asleep in the first night but on the 2nd night we get used to it already. The room is enough for 3 people. There's a queen bed and a single bed. U have to climb a small mini stairs to get to the toilet/shower room which we found quite weird in the beginning as the toilet is higher than the bedroom. Anyway, its clean and fully equipped with everything. There's a mini fridge in the room. No telephone is provided in the room to make a call to the receptionist. I guess maybe because the location of the rooms are not that far from the reception area. Our bed and pillow were very comfy. There're only very thin blankets (which looks like bedsheets ) provided. So you have to request from the receptionist for a 'real' blanket. But we did fine with the thin blanket provided as it wasn't that cold during the night. However, the room floors feels sticky that in the beginning we doesn't feel comfortable walking in the room plus there're no room's slippers provided. Oh yeah there's a hammock on the verandah but we were quite afraid to use it as the hammock level and the barrier level is about the same. And the super strong wind made us feel like we're going to fall anytime (we did tried to lay on it). I guess its going to be nicer if the wind wasn't that strong (cos of the season). But we just love our room and the sea view that we get. It was awesome!

Food: They have their own restaurant that they open for the public. We tried the breakfast buffet, ala-cart dinner and buffet dinner. Everything was good. The portion is big. Oh I just love the food at Freddies. They even have pizza but sadly we didn't managed to get one.

Wifi: Wifi works fine mostly around restaurant area but not in the room. We bought the local simcard for internet so we didn't have problem with internet connection.

Transport: They can help with transport arrangement from the moment you reach the airport till you reach the resort.

Customer service: The staff were all friendly and very attentive . The owner, Freddie is very fast to response to email enquiries and accommodating to last minutes changes which we really appreciate. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nurzatilisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabang
36.9 km away
Oasis Atjeh Hotel
Oasis Atjeh Hotel
#3 of 16 in Banda Aceh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
37.8 km away
Hermes Palace Hotel
Hermes Palace Hotel
#2 of 16 in Banda Aceh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
39.0 km away
Grand Nanggroe Hotel
Grand Nanggroe Hotel
#11 of 16 in Banda Aceh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 km away
Hotel Grand Permata Hati
Hotel Grand Permata Hati
#9 of 16 in Banda Aceh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.3 km away
Casa Nemo Beach Resort and SPA
9.2 km away
Iboih Inn
Iboih Inn
#2 of 6 in Pulau Weh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freddies Santai Sumurtiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freddies Santai Sumurtiga

Property: Freddies Santai Sumurtiga
Address: Jl Bahagia, Sabang, Pulau Weh 23521, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > Aceh > Pulau Weh > Sabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sabang
Price range (per night): R316 - R430
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the resort to choose for your stay on Pulau Weh / Sabang if you are looking for great sea-views, comfortable rooms, great snorkelling, the best food around from 2 restaurants, great service, comfortable beach facilities, the best range of cold beverages on the island, no crowds and peace and quiet. Kids / family friendly and a large range of supplementary services available. See you soon!!! Freddie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Freddies Santai Sumurtiga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freddies Santai Sumurtiga Hotel Pulau Weh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing