We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Freddies Santai Sumurtiga
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sabang Hill(Sabang)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Fie Resort(Iboih)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Prapat(Banda Aceh)
View Hotel
88 Hotel Atjeh(Banda Aceh)
View Hotel
Hotel Medan(Banda Aceh)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 61(Banda Aceh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
436
173
27
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
173
27
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet dinnerhis teampulau wehbanda acehevery eveningsea viewcall to prayerpizzadelicious foodfamily roomhis guestfreddies santaian excellent hostsnorkeling tripsoupvery reasonable pricefree water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Now, where do i start ? Vacations and seeing new places are some of the things many of us like to do . But vacation is just a vacation if there is no added substance into it .
Freddie's will open your mind and soul to appreciate every essence of life we have at our home,which we take for granted almost every aspect of it ...by seeing the locals trying their level best to accommodate the guests .These people are less fortunate than us yet they have a greater smile and bigger sincerity when they ask How Are You , they truly mean it .These people at Freddie's will take care of you like family without expecting a dime from you.
It all starts from Freddie , the man with a heart of an angel.
He has probably 10 extra people working for him in his resort which he does not need but he keeps them anyway .He teaches the locals to cook , speak English and run business .
Freddie gives back 100 million rupiahs every month for the community..period.
And He says Its not about the money ...its about what is our purpose in this world...we are not born to live or to die...but to be useful to others and leave a legacy that others may follow.
Please go to Freddie's and meet the man and his staffs ...you will not regret .The food is best to none but the settings and atmosphere is priceless.

And every dime you spend there is going back to the locals to feed their family and community , this is the main reason i will be going back soon to meet Freddie and Yanis ..his master cook.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dev Anand A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We came with family of five and stayed 3 nights instead of the intended 5. Freddie is a great host trying his best to please everybody. His menus and quality cooking at dinner time with explanation speeches are singular and unique. We slept in one of the rooms close to the beach with bunkbeds for the children which they loved. For the children Freddie also had some games available to play which is a nice touch and reminds me of my back packer times.
This place though already operating since 2005 still breaths pioneering air and not really a good place for young children (ours are 14,12,7). There is no room to play outside and the beach was swept away by rough weather and only rocks remained. There was a place 100 meters away, but you have to go over the rocks to get there.Please also note that there are a lot of mosquitos, lot's of people smoke everywhere (including Freddie) and you will meet other vermin. So all in all, this is a remote place where Freddies makes the most of, but not good for families and not enough to do to keep them occupied for more than 3 days anyway. Snorkling is ok though. Besides 3 of us also got sick from something we ate, but you can expect this to happen in places like Aceh, so good hygiene is paramount. And Freddies could improve on this for sure, so that the great dinners are not spoiled afterwards because of it.

Room Tip: rooms close to beach can be loud!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wilfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santaisumurtiga, Owner at Freddies Santai Sumurtiga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Dear guests and friends,
Just a short note to thank you all for the great reviews you have provided about our little resort. Your feedback and comments are highly appreciated.
Thank you also for your feedback about all the snorkeling trips, sightseeing trips and your feedback about exploring the island. It is a beautiful place with many beautiful sights to visit. Excellent roads and good support infrastructure to help you get around. The kids particularly enjoy the beyak outings, exploring the city, snorkeling at the different spots on the island, enjoying all the different beaches and exploring the island with their folks.
Thank you also for your feedback about our two kitchens and the quality of the food we provide. We are proud of our 2 kitchens, the hygiene standards we maintain and the large variety of fresh food we serve daily. We will continue to try and make it special for you.
Lastly, your positive feedback about the cleanliness of our rooms. Given our location and the natural environment we try and create for you, this is not an easy task. We continuously maintain and up-grade our rooms. Despite the fact that is basic, we ensure that is clean and comfortable with many small extras to make it special for you.
But we are not perfect. We do make mistakes. And for those we apologize. If we know something is in need of repair or not perfect, we fix. That is why your feedback is so important to us.
Thank you for your continued support. we all appreciate it.
Freddie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I love staying at Freddie, eventhough when e get there the weather was not freindly.lets talk about food !!! Freddie's cook by himself ad taste really good with so many various meal and with his warm personality makes me feels like home, and the guests treated like a family :D For activities, snorkling package with recommended guide, contact Andy +6285276449599 he knows beautiful spots for snorkle and he speaks English very good too. I also asked him to explore the island on motorbike for one day trip with very reasonable price.
If I may give a suggestion, Freddie's need to pay attention on the cleaness of their bedsheet ( I do not say it is dirty but better to change to other color rather than white, easy to spot stain ) and check cover on bathroom so dry leaves not flying inside the bathroom. Overall Freddie's is a recommended resort to stay! Thanks Freddie.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the restaurant are better and quiter.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristinayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Missing the little piece of paradise at Freddie's already! Even though weather wasn't at its best, Freddie's warm personality, great organization and superb culinary skill more than made up for it.

View of the ocean is also fabulous from bungalow 9, waters are as in the pictures when the sun finally came out - shades of sparkling clear turquoise #nofilter

We did a snorkeling trip with an experienced guide, Andy... highly recommended! Saw a myriad of marine life including rays, scorpion fish, clown fish, octopus and many many more.

Hope to be back soon, take care Freddie! :)

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We arrived on sunday morning and head straight to Freddie santai sumurtiga. We stayed 2 nights, We were upgraded to apartment due to stair issue. Staff are friendly..and Freddie personally cook dinner for the guests.....you will love the place but if you have knee problem, you may have to reconsider. other than that fantastic. We missed Freddie's cook already the next day we left for Banda Aceh and tried Freddies Pizza....to our surprise...food for 10pax 2 freddies is cheaper than nasi ayam paramugari.....

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zaitonshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews