We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner is the highlight, place in itself spartan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Freddies Santai Sumurtiga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sabang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dinner is the highlight, place in itself spartan”
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We came with family of five and stayed 3 nights instead of the intended 5. Freddie is a great host trying his best to please everybody. His menus and quality cooking at dinner time with explanation speeches are singular and unique. We slept in one of the rooms close to the beach with bunkbeds for the children which they loved. For the children Freddie also had some games available to play which is a nice touch and reminds me of my back packer times.
This place though already operating since 2005 still breaths pioneering air and not really a good place for young children (ours are 14,12,7). There is no room to play outside and the beach was swept away by rough weather and only rocks remained. There was a place 100 meters away, but you have to go over the rocks to get there.Please also note that there are a lot of mosquitos, lot's of people smoke everywhere (including Freddie) and you will meet other vermin. So all in all, this is a remote place where Freddies makes the most of, but not good for families and not enough to do to keep them occupied for more than 3 days anyway. Snorkling is ok though. Besides 3 of us also got sick from something we ate, but you can expect this to happen in places like Aceh, so good hygiene is paramount. And Freddies could improve on this for sure, so that the great dinners are not spoiled afterwards because of it.

Room Tip: rooms close to beach can be loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santaisumurtiga, Owner at Freddies Santai Sumurtiga, responded to this review, 20 November 2016
Dear guests and friends,
Just a short note to thank you all for the great reviews you have provided about our little resort. Your feedback and comments are highly appreciated.
Thank you also for your feedback about all the snorkeling trips, sightseeing trips and your feedback about exploring the island. It is a beautiful place with many beautiful sights to visit. Excellent roads and good support infrastructure to help you get around. The kids particularly enjoy the beyak outings, exploring the city, snorkeling at the different spots on the island, enjoying all the different beaches and exploring the island with their folks.
Thank you also for your feedback about our two kitchens and the quality of the food we provide. We are proud of our 2 kitchens, the hygiene standards we maintain and the large variety of fresh food we serve daily. We will continue to try and make it special for you.
Lastly, your positive feedback about the cleanliness of our rooms. Given our location and the natural environment we try and create for you, this is not an easy task. We continuously maintain and up-grade our rooms. Despite the fact that is basic, we ensure that is clean and comfortable with many small extras to make it special for you.
But we are not perfect. We do make mistakes. And for those we apologize. If we know something is in need of repair or not perfect, we fix. That is why your feedback is so important to us.
Thank you for your continued support. we all appreciate it.
Freddie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    145
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
102
197
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I love staying at Freddie, eventhough when e get there the weather was not freindly.lets talk about food !!! Freddie's cook by himself ad taste really good with so many various meal and with his warm personality makes me feels like home, and the guests treated like a family :D For activities, snorkling package with recommended guide, contact Andy +6285276449599 he knows beautiful spots for snorkle and he speaks English very good too. I also asked him to explore the island on motorbike for one day trip with very reasonable price.
If I may give a suggestion, Freddie's need to pay attention on the cleaness of their bedsheet ( I do not say it is dirty but better to change to other color rather than white, easy to spot stain ) and check cover on bathroom so dry leaves not flying inside the bathroom. Overall Freddie's is a recommended resort to stay! Thanks Freddie.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the restaurant are better and quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristinayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Missing the little piece of paradise at Freddie's already! Even though weather wasn't at its best, Freddie's warm personality, great organization and superb culinary skill more than made up for it.

View of the ocean is also fabulous from bungalow 9, waters are as in the pictures when the sun finally came out - shades of sparkling clear turquoise #nofilter

We did a snorkeling trip with an experienced guide, Andy... highly recommended! Saw a myriad of marine life including rays, scorpion fish, clown fish, octopus and many many more.

Hope to be back soon, take care Freddie! :)

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We arrived on sunday morning and head straight to Freddie santai sumurtiga. We stayed 2 nights, We were upgraded to apartment due to stair issue. Staff are friendly..and Freddie personally cook dinner for the guests.....you will love the place but if you have knee problem, you may have to reconsider. other than that fantastic. We missed Freddie's cook already the next day we left for Banda Aceh and tried Freddies Pizza....to our surprise...food for 10pax 2 freddies is cheaper than nasi ayam paramugari.....

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank zaitonshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016

-Nice place to stay, value for money, family rooms provide bunk bed.. my kids really love it.
-Nice sunrise view from balcony
-friendly staff
-No air-conditioner but windy and airy
-clean room and well maintained

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endrawati J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabang
38.8 km away
Oasis Atjeh Hotel
Oasis Atjeh Hotel
#3 of 16 in Banda Aceh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
37.3 km away
Hermes Palace Hotel
Hermes Palace Hotel
#2 of 16 in Banda Aceh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
36.2 km away
No photo provided
88 Hotel Atjeh
#10 of 16 in Banda Aceh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Casa Nemo Beach Resort and SPA
1.8 km away
Anoi Itam Resort
Anoi Itam Resort
#5 of 5 in Sabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
9.7 km away
Iboih Inn
Iboih Inn
#2 of 6 in Pulau Weh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freddies Santai Sumurtiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freddies Santai Sumurtiga

Property: Freddies Santai Sumurtiga
Address: Jl Bahagia, Sabang, Pulau Weh 23521, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > Aceh > Pulau Weh > Sabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sabang
Price range (per night): R326 - R443
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the resort to choose for your stay on Pulau Weh / Sabang if you are looking for great sea-views, comfortable rooms, great snorkelling, the best food around from 2 restaurants, great service, comfortable beach facilities, the best range of cold beverages on the island, no crowds and peace and quiet. Kids / family friendly and a large range of supplementary services available. See you soon!!! Freddie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Freddies Santai Sumurtiga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freddies Santai Sumurtiga Hotel Pulau Weh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing