We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bungalow 8 is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Freddies Santai Sumurtiga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sabang
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bungalow 8 is great”
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I feel bad when people write bad reviews and not telling the truth. I stayed at Freddies for 4 days with 2 of my friends. We stayed in bungalow 8, the subject of a review a few days ago. Just to set the record straight. The bungalow had a double bed and single bed which was perfect for us. The curtains are not see-through. Standard cotton. There were no smells in the bathroom. The bathrooms are cleaned and disinfected daily. The bed linen was perfect on all the beds and in good condition. The fan was in perfectly working order. Why do you need a blanket if you say the room was hot. Strange. We kept our windows open and also the security door. The room was nice and cool.
This place is great value for money, clean and cared for. The staff friendly and supportive. Great food. Highly recommended, even bungalow 8??!!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have better sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzyquantil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    140
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
97
193
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Baru Bangi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I book for bungalow that can accommodate 2pax but then i get deluxe bungalow or family bungalow i think.. Room no 10 ;
- Too many bed inside the room
- Too smelly

We ask for room change, the staff lying said all room are full. I honestly admit that i cant stay on that room. Then suddently he said there are another room available.
Room no 8 ;
- Too many mattress inside
- Too smelly
- The toilet is very dirty
- Dirty bedsheet with a hole on it. The bedsheet itself not fit for the bed. Your bed literally not covered.
- No blanket.
- Fan not working properly. Too hot.
- You can hear Gecko sound literally every 3/4 hours. Very scary!!
- No privacy. You can see someone inside because the curtain is transparent!!


Conclusion :

Not suitable for couple/pregnant lady if you get room other than room no 1-5. To many stairs for not so good view and uncomfortable room.

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Khalidah89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Small, cute Bungalows with sea-view out of Bamboo. The beach is very nice for snorkeling. The bathroom is a little bit too small and not the youngest one. The restaurant serves good food. But the service is very slow. Freddie wasn't there, this was sad.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janina94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This is exactly the place where you could stay a very, very long time because it is just perfect. Freddies and his team are so great. They offered us a very warm welcome all along the full week we stayed there. We enjoyed the wonderful food served every day, from breakfast to dinner. For daily activities, Freddies helped us to find the right people to go to the right place at the right cost. Strongly recommended in you come to Pulau Weh. Freddies actually deserves his reputation. Thanks very much to him and his team.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanguykarima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

The bungallows are situated on the rock so you can have a fabulous view of the sea directly from your bed. I have fallen in love with the nature around.

The bungallows themselves are very simply furnitured. But the view of the balcony is purely breath taking. Do not expect a luxurious place with air-conditioned rooms or a swimming pool, it is not this kind of accommodation. You will enjoy a sandy beach (but there are stones in the entrance to the sea) and an exclusive snorchling area with many species of fish.

You will definetely enjoy a family approach and care by Freddie and his team, common "family like" dinners with the other guests where you will be introduced to the rest and warmly welcome by Freddie. Everyone then knows everyone. The cuisine is the best on the island.

I found bothering the local people coming and taking pictures of the foreigners.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabang
38.8 km away
Oasis Atjeh Hotel
Oasis Atjeh Hotel
#3 of 16 in Banda Aceh
67 reviews
37.3 km away
Hermes Palace Hotel
Hermes Palace Hotel
#2 of 16 in Banda Aceh
179 reviews
36.2 km away
No photo provided
88 Hotel Atjeh
#9 of 16 in Banda Aceh
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Casa Nemo Beach Resort and SPA
9.7 km away
Iboih Inn
Iboih Inn
#2 of 6 in Pulau Weh
174 reviews
1.8 km away
Anoi Itam Resort
Anoi Itam Resort
#5 of 5 in Sabang
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freddies Santai Sumurtiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freddies Santai Sumurtiga

Property: Freddies Santai Sumurtiga
Address: Jl Bahagia, Sabang, Pulau Weh 23521, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > Aceh > Pulau Weh > Sabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sabang
Price range (per night): R331 - R450
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the resort to choose for your stay on Pulau Weh / Sabang if you are looking for great sea-views, comfortable rooms, great snorkelling, the best food around from 2 restaurants, great service, comfortable beach facilities, the best range of cold beverages on the island, no crowds and peace and quiet. Kids / family friendly and a large range of supplementary services available. See you soon!!! Freddie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Freddies Santai Sumurtiga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freddies Santai Sumurtiga Hotel Pulau Weh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing