We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$325
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/26
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$326
US$239
View deal
SAVE US$87
Expedia.comUS$326
Priceline
eDreamsUS$325
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5 296)
Filter reviews
5 296 results
Traveller rating
3 173
1 374
455
188
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3 173
1 374
455
188
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviews world cafe seaside grill el patio fish italian restaurant adult pool lobby bar partial ocean view kids club wedding planner jacuzzi on the balcony a la carte restaurants breakfast and lunch preferred club spanish coffee my pleasure ocean front
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 5 296 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We just returned from a 7 night stay at this resort. What can I say...It was easily the best and most enjoyable beach vacation we've ever taken. We've been blessed to have toured, and vacationed to many beach towns and cities around the world, and have never stayed twice in the same hotel / resort, but we will return to the Dreams in Huatulco! All the staff treated us great during our stay. From the bellboys, the wait staff at restaurants, the bar staff , the ladies in the kids club. Everyone is great!
The hotel building itself is showing its age and wear, but the staff makes all the difference. The destination "Huatulco" in itself offers a very authentic Mexican feel. You won't find McDonald's here, but you will have the best tasting street tacos. We loved the small town feel and friendliness of the locals. We enjoyed our stay at Dreams, and Huatulco for it's authentic Mexican feel. We will return next year!

Date of stay: June 2018
5  Thank 878raye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConcierge D, General Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Ray E:

Firstly, we would like to thank you very much for your kind and detailed comments. We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regards to your recent stay at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your positive comments very much (regarding the service provided by our staff and about how much you enjoyed Huatulco as a destiantion). We appreciate your compliments and recognition as it is a great motivating force for us to keep up with the service.

Thanks for your preference, it has been our pleasure to attend you in Dreams Huatulco and we hope to see you again in your home away from home in a not distant future, where serving you: It’s a pleasure!

Kind Regards
Angélica Angón
General Manager
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

for the amount we paid very poor value Rooms were clean but you could here next door drying their hair or even talking Beach was not use able as a lot of under currents which was disappointing . Would not stay here again

Date of stay: January 2018
2  Thank irisroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConcierge D, General Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear irisroman:

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent staying with us .

Let me assure you that we have strict processes in food and beverages, which guarantee that our products meet quality requirements. We regret that your perception was not the best, your comments are very important to us. Be certain that we will share your comments with the departments involved to avoid those kind of inconveniences.

Despite these inconveniences, we hope you can take the opprtunity to visit this beautiful destiantion in a not-distant future.

Kind Regards
Angélica Angón
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

The food at the hotel was really good and they had a great variety of options. The most amazing thing about the hotel was the service. Everyone was delightful and would treat us very well. We reencountered the manager of the bufett restaurant and he would also working at the Mexican restaurant and his name is Diego Mijangos and his boss Jorge Briseño was also very delightful. Another thing is that they were very professional and knowledgeable. Lastly they offered us to talk to the Sommelier, and he had an extensive wine list. The hotel also offers a lot of activities for example beach volleyball, basketball, bingo and so many other activities.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank lp15082018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConcierge D, General Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear lp15082018

Firstly, We would like to thank you for taking time to let us know your opinion and share with us your rating regarding your recent stay at Dreams Huatulco Resort and Spa.

We are very happy to know that we could reach your expectations and we went above. Thank you for highlighting the service provided by our coworkers. Your kind comments will serve as inspiration for our team to continue working with passion and deliver to all our valuable guest the best of experiences.

Hope to see you soon, because remember that at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa; you will always have a place where the friends are waiting for you with arms wide open. We would certainly be glad to have you back in the second round of a wonderful stay. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance.


Kind Regards
Angélica Angón
General Manager
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We are just returning from a week-long vacation to the Dreams. This was our first time in Huatulco but have stayed at Dreams resorts in 2 other locations. We frequent all-inclusive resorts and have stayed at 6 all inclusive resorts in Cancun, 2 in Punta Cana, 2 in Puerto Vallarta, 1 in Jamaica and 1 in Los Cabos. This was our second all inclusive experience with a baby (10.5 month old).

General observations:
-the sun is very strong, even locals were using 50 spf sunscreen...the weather was fairly humid with highs in upper 80s/low90s and lows in the upper 70s, sitting by the pools there is normally a nice breeze off the ocean so the temps don’t feel too bad if you’re in the shade or pools

-the seaside grill, Japanese restaurant and oceana are all open air restaurants so these tend to be very hot in the evenings as they don’t get much breeze off the ocean

-we did not do any excursions, did not use the spa or explorer club for kids so I cannot comment on these things

-we also did not attend any of the evening entertainment shows...the entertainment staff were around a little throughout the day, but I felt like the daily events weren’t advertised/announced well...although sometimes at other resorts in the past I feel like we would get badgered by the entertainment staff to participate

-the beach area is nice and sand is walkable barefoot, there is an area where you can walk probably 15 minutes one way...there are people trying to sell souvenirs and excursions on the beach, but they weren’t pushy with us

-we did not sit through any “talks” or informational sessions to get our resort coupons...we’ve done this in the past and never used the coupons anyway

-I tend to attract any biting bugs (ie mosquitos) within a 10 mike radius and this trip was no different, my husband never got any bites or noticed them, and my legs had quite a few bites, although I never would see them

-the resort had water sports available, but this wasn’t feasible with a 10.5 month old...the ocean was pretty rough overall (red flag conditions) the whole time we were there

-our room (1301) was the furthest room to the east of the resort on the 3rd floor, overlooking one of the adults only pools and Japanese restaurant..the room was fairly inconvenient as far as distance from the lobby/main pool area and main restaurant areahad a mini fridge with beers, soda, juices and water..the mini safe worked fine and there were robes and slippers available...I cannot comment about the variety of tv stations as we didn’t watch tv, but I did notice that there was a DVD player available...the Air conditioning was fair at best, despite having our thermostat turned down to 18.0 Celsius (the lowest we could turn it down to), the coldest it ever got in our room was 19.6 (which doesn’t sound bad except when you’re laying in bed sweating all night)...the bathroom is small but fairly modern, the room itself is okay size, but no separate living area with couch/loveseat/etc..we did have a whirlpool on the balcony but did not use it...the resort did provide a crib for us and it was in our room when we arrived, overall the room I would say is slightly outdated compared to other resorts we’ve been to, but it is adequate, we don’t come to resorts to sit in our room

- English speaking guests were definitely in the minority at the resort...I am unsure if it was a lot of locals with day passes or weekend passes versus vacationers from nearby countries/areas...the other guests were friendly overall even if there was a language barrier, the resort workers’ English was average compared to other resorts we’ve been to in the past

-we did not see much for wildlife while walking on the beach or within the resort, a few fish in the preferred area and a few iguanas within the resort near the pool areas

Pros:
-the resort was not very full and we had our choice of beach chairs every morning even when we didn’t get down to the pool area before 8 am

-cleanliness-the pools (except for the far west pool, which wasn’t as clean first thing in the morning) were kept very clean overall, we only noticed a sunscreen film on one of the pools and that was at 5 pm and the next day it was clean...the rooms were cleaned daily and turn down service at night...the restrooms overall were clean...the resort workers work tirelessly to keep the facilities clean

-friendly workers-90% of the workers greeted us all the time when we would meet them in the hallways or out and about, a few of the female staff at the world cafe (Luisa, Alma, and Alaceli) were very kind and loving toward our 10.5 month daughter, holding her, entertaining her, and talking to her every time we came to the buffet

-we arrived at the resort a little after 1 pm and our room was already ready, which was nice with a cranky, tired, teething 10.5 month old :/

-check in and check out went quickly and smoothly overall, a cool damp washcloth and welcome drink were ready for us when we arrived

-the concierge was very helpful in getting a sippy cup back that we had left at a specialty restaurant the previous night

-the wait staff work tirelessly taking drink orders all day long

Cons:
-the gym area had a couple of ellipticals, treadmills, a recumbent bike, and a few spin bikes for cardio equipment. The elliptical I used had certain features that did not work (ie adjusting the resistance) and the other elliptical was unsteady with significant wobble side to side. The gym also had exercise mats, stability balls, free weights, plyo boxes, and a few machines. Overall, I was not overly impressed but I could find enough to do with the free weights to satisfy my workouts. Updated cardio equipment would be nice! Although I’m not sure many people use the gym!

-no swim up bar-there are a few bars close to the pool so this isn’t the end of the world, but for some people it must be a deal-breaker.

-the bathrooms very not very close to the pool we liked to frequent that had the shelter for shaded chairs

-the drinks were fairly inconsistent as far as taste, strength, quality and ingredients

-the food at the specialty restaurants and buffet overall was just average...I was disappointed by the lack of variety of fresh fruits and salad ingredients throughout the week...I also at times had difficulty finding fruits for my daughter such as applesauce, peaches, pears, etc., which are normally a staple at buffets...the buffet did have tuna and a white fish (not sure exactly what variety) that was grilled fresh which my husband really enjoyed...the made to order omelets at breakfast and ice cream at lunch were very good...the wait staff in all the restaurants were very attentive and friendly and went above and beyond to constantly clean up around our daughter’s high-chair even while we were still eating..we didn’t find guacamole as an appetizer on any menus but when asked, they would bring it...I did appreciate that the restaurants didn’t require reservations and we could be in/out of a specialty restaurant fairly quickly, we didn’t have to wait very long between courses which was a godsend with an infant!

-there was not much shade in the pool areas from 10-4:30pm...before 10 there was a pool near the ocean/seaside grill with a shallow area perfect for babies/toddlers that was completely shaded by the building and then after 4:30 pm the pool next to the world cafe buffet would be shaded by the buildings as the sun went down... a pool float with a canopy and sun/pool hat was a must for our daughter if she was swimming between 10 and 4:30

-there were two adults only pools which were pretty empty overall
————

Overall: would we return? Maybe, 7 Days is too long for us if we aren’t doing any excursions. The food was fairly disappointing compared to what we’ve come to expect at the other resorts we’ve been to in the past and the warm room at night made it difficult to sleep. But, the weather (while overall hot) was great beach/pool weather. The area isn’t commercialized like Cancun/riviera maya which is refreshing, and the people are very friendly. If we were to return in the future, I think we would probably leave our daughter home and try the adults-only Secrets....but even then I think I would be bored by the end of a 7 nights!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank JB335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConcierge D, General Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear JB335:

Thank you so much for such a nice review about Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your recent beach vacation into this beautiful spot in Mexico. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed several features during your stayr, we are grateful you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip, such as the cleanliness, our pool area, and especially our friendly and attentive staff; it is always motivating for the staff to receive comments like yours.
Likewise, we thank you for the comments regarding the quality of some meals and the general suggestions you made, rest assured that this will get to the corresponding area, so we will be able to take the necessary measures to improve our service

Despite these inconveniences, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the not-too-distant future, in this home where to serve you: it is a pleasure!


Kind Regards
Angélica Angón
General Manager
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

This is our third time in Huatulco and our second time in Dreams and I must say that we all had a great time, my kids LOVE their Kid’s club, hotel is nice and the staff are friendly and very helpful!! Look for Alejandro Rojo or Oscar at the front and they will guide you in everything you must know. Of course will come back in our next vacation time and again if you have kids there’s no other hotel in Huatulco where your kids will beg you to take them to their Explorers Club and the best part they will stay there all day long until 10 PM learning all kind of activities from Cooking Classes, learning how to make bracelets, camping in the beach, rock climbing, pool time with pina coladas!! Liz, Melissa, Beni and Nayrubi are great kids teachers, they are bilingual and they will take care of your kids as if they were their own...

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Laviaetbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eConcierge D, General Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Laviaetbella:

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed comments. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience on your last visit to Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your positive comments very much. We appreciate your compliments and recognition which is a great motivation for our staff. We're happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities, and mainly, the service provided by our incredible staff in the Explorer's Club and at the Front Desk.
Thanks for your preference, it has been our pleasure to attend you in Dreams Huatulco and we hope to see you again in your home away from home in a not distant future, where serving you: It’s a pleasure!

Kind Regards
Agélica Angón
General Manager
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews